The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame (IMSHOF) website is now available in English, Spanish and Portuguese.

The IMSHOF site will also soon be made available in Italian, French, German and Japanese.

The International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame was established in 1961 to recognize the marathon swimmers throughout the world and governed by an international selection committee of marathon swimming experts (see below).

The Hall of Fame recognizes not only the world’s most successful swimmers in competitive races, but also individuals for their solo swim exploits around the world. It is a non-profit educational sports hall of fame devoted to marathon swimming and is dedicated to promoting the athletes, coaches, administrators, pilots, reporters, volunteers, organizations, race directors and associations affiliated with marathon swimming. It immortalizes online the achievements and contributions of those who have distinguished themselves in this sport.

But with a growing number of marathon swimmers in non-English-speaking countries, the need to expand to other languages is immediate.

For English, visit here. For Spanish, visit here. For Portuguese, visit here.

The officers elected to International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame for the period of 21 January 2012 through 31 December 2015 are:

* President: Kevin Murphy
* Program Vice President: Christopher Guesdon
* Chief Administrator and Vice President: Steven Munatones
* Secretary and Treasurer: Dale Petranech
* International Swimming Hall of Fame Liaison: Bob Duenkel
* Africa Co-Vice Presidents: Wayne Riddin and Neville Smith
* Asia: Yuko Matsuzaki
* Europe: Stéphane Lecat
* North America: Lynn Blouin
* Oceania: Philip Rush
* South America: Silvia Dalotto

The Board of Directors includes Steven Munatones (USA), Paul Asmuth (USA), Lynn Blouin, Richard Broer (Netherlands), Sid Cassidy (USA), David Clark (USA), Silvia Dalotto (Argentina), Bob Duenkel (USA), Christopher Guesdon (Australia), Dee Llewellyn (England), Tim Johnson (USA), Pavel Kuznetsov (Russia), Stéphane Lecat (France), Dr. Marcella MacDonald (USA), Yuko Matsuzaki (Japan), Dr. Osama Ahmed Momtaz (Egypt), Kevin Murphy (England), Pierre Otis (Canada), Dale Petranech (USA), Michael Read (England), Wayne Riddin (South Africa), Philip Rush (New Zealand), Carol Sing (USA), Neville Smith (South Africa), Shelley Taylor-Smith (Australia), Skip Storch (USA), Montserrat Tresserras Dou (Spain), Irene van der Laan (Netherlands), and Peter van Vooren (Belgium).

All interested swimmers, coaches, administrators, officials, volunteers, pilots, crew and fans can participate in the next International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame board meeting that is open to all who participate in, volunteer for, promote, enjoy, officiate the sport.

The board meeting will be held in the Grand Salon conference room on the Queen Mary (see on right) at 6:00 pm on September 21st, the opening day of the 2012 Global Open Water Swimming Conference.

To express interest in participating or attending the 2012 International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, visit here or email your interest here.

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source


Join Open Water Source as a FREE Member or as a Premium Member

Register for FREE and see content that is not accessible to the general public.

Better yet, join Open Water Source as a Premium Member and get full access instantly.

Premium Membership:

See What You’re Missing!

Subscription Amount: $5.99/month

Access All Premium Content!

Open Water Source… Your complete source for open water swimming.

Register for a Chance to Win a Vacation!

Open Water Podcast Presenting the Open Water Vacation Giveaway

The Open Water Vacation Giveaway is provided courtesy of Open Water Source. Winners will be randomly selected from among those who register in advance for the 2012 Global Open Water Swimming Conference in Long Beach, California (September 21-23, 2012).

Click HERE for more information about the conference.


[SlideDeck id='7594' width='100%' height='300px']

Click HERE for more information about the Open Water Vacation Giveaway.


[SlideDeck id='3697' width='100%' height='300px']


North side beach at Marine Stadium in Long Beach starting at 9:00 AM

  • 100-meter newcomer swim
  • 800-meter swim (½ loop of the Olympic 10 km Marathon Swim course)
  • 1 loop of the Olympic Triathlon swim course (1.5 kilometers)
  • 3 loops of the Olympic 10 km Marathon Swim course (5 kilometers)
  • 6 loops of the Olympic 10 km Marathon Swim course (10 kilometers)


Register for the 2012 Global Open Water Swimming Conference in Long Beach, CA.

Join us from Friday, September 21 thru Sunday, September 23 at Marine Stadium!

Open Water Swimming Race Calendar

[SlideDeck id='1522' width='100%' height='260px']