2011 World Open Water Swimming Association Award Nominees

2011 World Open Water Swimming Association Award Nominees

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

We are pleased to announce the 2011 WOWSA Award Nominees.    To find out details about each nominee, click the name.   If you’d like to proceed directly to voting click HERE between November 1st and December 31st.

These awards are not necessarily for the best athletes, but are meant to honor the men and women who (1) best embodies the spirit of open water swimming, (2) possesses the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for, and (3) has most positively influenced the world of open water swimming in 2011.

Woman of the Year Nominees

Ana Marcela Cunha (Brazil) – World Marathon Swimming Champion
Pamela Dickson (New Zealand) – Lady of the Lake
Elizabeth Fry (USA) – Two Times Makes Double
Pat Gallant-Charette (USA) – Nursing Marathon Excellence
Pilar Geijo (Argentina) – World Professional Marathon Swimming Champion
Marcy MacDonald (USA) – Freestyling Foot Doctor
Angela Maurer (Germany) – Mother of Marathoners
Anna-Carin Nordin (Sweden) Swedish Aloha In The Channels
Diana Nyad (USA) – Inspiration and Determination Redux
Penny Palfrey (Australia) – Marathon Swimmer Extraordinaire
Keri-Anne Payne (Great Britain) – World Champion and Olympic Favorite

Man of the Year Nominees

Roger Allsopp (Great Britain) – Barrier-Breaker
Bruckner Chase (USA) – Ocean Advocacy and Awareness Visionary
Salvatore Cimmino (Italy) – Champion of the Disabled
Spyridon Gianniotis (Greece) – World Professional Marathon Swimming Champion
Simon Griffiths (Great Britain) – Open Water Swimming Publisher Visionary
Thomas Lurz (Germany) – World Professional Marathon Swimming Champion
Simon Murie (Great Britain) – Open Water Swimming Tour Operator and Enabler
Jamie Patrick (USA) – Adventure Swimmer
Stephen Redmond (Ireland) – Courageous Channel Challenger
Yutaka Shinozaki (Japan) – Founder of the Japan International Open Water Swimming Association
Petar Stoychev (Bulgaria) – World Professional Marathon Swimming Champion
Doug Woodring (Hong Kong) – Ocean Recovery Alliance Visionary

Performance of the Year

1400K Swim Across Tunisia  (Tunisia) – Swimmer of Peace and Bridge Builder
Colleen Blair (Scotland) – Swimming Across the Graveyard of Ships
Bridging The Cayman Islands (Cayman Islands) – Captivating Channel Challenge
Farallon Islands Swimming Association (USA) – Enabling a Renaissance In San Francisco
Julie Galloway (Ireland) – Record-setting Marathon Swimmer
Ray Gandy (USA) – Two Days in the Bay
Japan to Taiwan Ocean Swim Challenge (Japan – Taiwan) – Bridge Across Troubled Waters
Swann Oberson (Switzerland) – Switzerland’s First World Champion
Patagonia Extreme Cold Water Challenge (Chile and Argentina) – Adventure at the Tip of South America
Progetto Adriatico (Italy to Albania) Learn To Be Free  
Rebekah Boscariol (Canada) – Swimming for SickKids
The Swim (United Kingdom) – Charity Relay Across the Irish Sea
Selina Moreno Pasagali (Spain) – Marathon Swimming Cancer Survivor
Special Olympics World Summer Games (Greece) – A Special Global Catalyst of Good
A Swim For The Coastlines – Un Nado Por Las Costas (Dominican Republic) – Coastal Cleanup Crowds
Windermere 12-way Warriors (England) – Dozen Times Better
Forrest Nelson (USA) – Courageous Channel Circumnavigation


Copyright © 2011 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones