2019-2020 Global Swim Series Champions

2019-2020 Global Swim Series Champions

2019-2020 Global Swim Series Champions

Courtesy of Global Swim Series.

Global Swim Series founder Rob Kent announced, “The first race of the 2019-2020 Global Swim Series season took place in the stunning west of Ireland, on May 18th 2019 – the Lisfannon to Ludden Swim, and should have ended on the other side of the world, on April 26th 2020, with the Brown’s Island Marathon Swim in Auckland, New Zealand, but of course COVID-19 meant the last GSS race was in fact the first of three Sand Key Open Water Swims, on March 7th in Clearwater, Florida.”

There were about 20 swims cancelled during this 2019-2012 GSS season.

Kent explains, “Despite the pandemic the GSS still saw a record number of races included this season. Overall, we saw phenomenal attendance, with tens of thousands of swimmers competing globally. The explosion of French races in the GSS certainly made the competition more fun and the first ever GSS races in Ukraine and Honduras gave the series an increased global appeal.”

The series winners included:

Female Wetsuit Division
1. Lauren Archer 1610.65
2. Jane Anderson 855.93
3. Hannah Lindsey 702.20

Male Wetsuit Division
1. Jordan Leckey 2066.72 points (19 races)
2. Nicholas Duprey 1815
3. Stephen Archer 1590.06

Female Non-Wetsuit Division
1. Reka Varga 559.53
2. Charlotte Brynn 514.66
3. Jovana Jecanski 470.16

Male Non-Wetsuit Division
1. Francie McAlinden 1404.60 (15 races)
2. Colin Lindsay 1127.94
3. Peter Cosseboom 659.69

For full results of the Global Swim Series rankings, visit here.

Rob and Dylan Kent will appear in the future edition of WOWSA Live.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones