Unique Award In The Open Water Swimming World, Part 18

Unique Award In The Open Water Swimming World, Part 18

Unique Awards In The Open Water Swimming World, Part 18

Courtesy of Rosemary George, Dover, England.

The 81-year-old Rosemary George, an International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honor Swimmer from Dover, gave an interview on WOWSA Live with Ned Denison.

George offhandedly mentioned an award that she received as a swimmer. In 1967, she swam from France to England in 17 hours 50 minutes to become the third woman to swim the English Channel in both directions. Her award is shown above and reads:

This plaque was presented by the right worshipful The Mayor of Dover (Councillor R.S. Eade, J.P.) to Miss Rosemary George in recognition of her being the first British woman to swim from England to France and the first Dovorian ever to swim the English Channel 19th/29th July 1961.

Her plaque offers a unique award that is among other unusually creative and beautiful awards:

* Belt buckles at the SCAR Swim Challenge in Arizona, USA: see here
* Conch trophies at the Race For The Conch Eco-SeaSwim in Turks & Caicos: see here
* Walking sticks and woodals at the Kingdom Swim in Vermont: see here
* Paper crown for Ice Kilometers swimmers at the IISA Ireland National Championships: see here
* For Triple Crowners (English Channel + Catalina Channel + Around Manhattan Island): see here
* MSF Spork + MSF Navigator Award from the MSF: see here
* Cherrywood plaque for South End Rowing Club members for their North Channel crossing: see here
* For H20PLAY Swim Series winners: see here
* For 2-way North Channel relay from Northern Ireland to Scotland and back to Northern Ireland: see here
* For Hawaiian Christmas Looong Distance Invitational Rough-H2O Swim finishers on Oahu: see here
* For finishers of the Nevis to St. Kitts Cross-Channel Swim: see here
* English Channel award for Shubham Vanmali: see here
* Unique fish awards at the Los Cabos Open Water Challenge: see here.
* Rhinoceros trophy for the Midmar Mile 8 Mile Charity Club: see here.
* North Channel crossing by the Irish Long Distance Swimming Association: see here.
* Gaston Memorial Swim awards: see here.

Copyright 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones