Alex Meyer And Eva Fabian Continue Their Winning Ways

Alex Meyer And Eva Fabian Continue Their Winning Ways

25K world champion Alex Meyer and 5K world champion Eva Fabian won close races at the FINA 10K Marathon Swimming World Cup in China.

In Shantou’s 27°C (80.6°F) muddy waters, the pro athletes from 9 countries races around a 2K loop. In men’s race, Zu Li Jun of China took a very early lead and led the pack by 1 minute until the 7.5K when the field reeled him in going into the final loop. As the pace picked up, Alex, American teammate Fran Crippen and Olympian Brian Ryckeman of Belgium had a close battle at the end when Alex won in a near photo finish.

In the women’s race, it was a close pack with Eva Fabian and Emily Brunemann leading going into the final loop. Coming into the finish, 2010 world 25K champion Lindsey Heister of the Netherland and Olympian Angela Maurer of Germany made a move but it was thwarted by Eva who won the race. The final top 10 results:

1. Alex Meyer (USA) 1:55.30.39
2. Fran Crippen (USA) 1:55.30.89
3. Brian Ryckeman (BEL) 1:55.33.16
4. Chad HO (RSA) 1:55.38.18
5. Tom Vangeneugden (BEL) 1:56.06.87
6. Sergi Fesenko (AZE) 1:56.08.18
7. Zu Li Jun (CHN) 1:56.35.45
8. Igor Chervynskiy (UKR) 1:59.22.62
9. Kerin Rok (SVK) 1:59.25.47
10. Zibin Zang (CHN) 2:01.13.64

1. Eva Fabian (USA) 2:02.56.10
2. Linsy Heister (NED) 2:02.57.30
3. Angela Maurer (GER) 2:03.03.29
4. Emily Brunemann (USA) 2:03.03.50
5. Emily Hanson (USA) 2:03.11.46
6. Karla Sitic (CRO) 2:03.12.94
7. Olga Beresnyeva (UKR) 2:03.13.30
8. Xue Li (CHN) 2:03.15.96
9. Marcela Ana Cunah (BRA) 2:03.22.75
10. Maaike Waaijer (NED) 2:03.34.97

Copyright © 2010 by Steven Munatones
Steven Munatones