Andie Nelson Wins DC Marathon Swim

Andie Nelson Wins DC Marathon Swim

Andrea Nelson won the first of four DC Marathon Swims yesterday. Race director Jim Loreto said, “It was definitely a bit choppier and the wind picked up, but all three swimmers powered through.”

The DC Marathon Swim is a 33 km (20.5-mile) marathon swim down the Potomac River from Fletcher’s Cove in northern Washington D.C. to Ferry Point, Virginia based on the pioneering swims by James Loreto and Denis Crean in 2019.


  1. Andrea (Andie) Nelson 10 hours 5 minutes
  2. Brian Jaskot 10 hours 24 minutes
  3. Bill Shipp 10 hours 46 minutes

Nelson and Jaskot swam to support the Potomac River Riverkeeper and their continued efforts to improve water quality. Nelson said, “In honor of the 50th Anniversary of the Clean Water Act, we dedicate this swim to a clean and healthy Potomac River. We hope you will consider supporting us by contributing to our fundraiser for The Potomac Riverkeeper.” For more information, visit here.

For more information on the DC Marathon Swim, visit

Swimmers who have completed the swim include:

Copyright © 2008 – 2022 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones