ASATT Maracas Open Water Swim Classic

Samantha Rahael (1:12:32) and Jonathan Gillette (1:11:13) won the 5K race at the ASATT Maracas Open Water Swim Classic at Maracas Bay in Trinidad.

Theana Hay (1:16:04) and Rebecca Clarke (1:17:10) were second and third respectively after Samantha. Blaine Sobrian (1:12:30) and Marc Stauble (1:13:33) were second and third after Jonathan.

In the 2.65K race, Nicholas Mitchell won the one lap event in 38:13 over a tight race for 2nd to 5th. Syriah David won the women’s race in 40:50.

Shania David defended her 750m female race in 11:38 seconds with Alexis Clarke (11:43) second and Jewel Mulrain (12:05) third. Christian Marsden won the 750m male race in 11:39 with James Gillette (11:53) and Kael Yorke (11:56) behind in second and third.

Over 325 athletes participated, including the ever-present Gordon Borde, in the three races with Olympic medallist George Bovell III and Chairman of the Sport Company of Trinidad and Tobago Sebastien Paddington in attendance. The full results are at here.

Copyright © 2011 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones