Awards, Honors Of The International Swimming Hall of Fame

Awards, Honors Of The International Swimming Hall of Fame

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Brent Rutemiller is the CEO & President of the International Swimming Hall of Fame and the long-time publisher of Swimming World Magazine. He explains the awards and honors that the Hall of Fame annually presents to worthy individuals:

· International Swimming Hall of Fame

o Induction into the International Swimming Hall of Fame is centered around Olympic and World Class competition. All nominees must submit in writing their qualifications. This then goes to a nominating committee and then to a large group of international voters.

o Golden Medallion is presented each year to a former competitive swimmer for his or her national or international significant achievements in the field of science, entertainment, art, business, education, or government. There are no restrictions other than the recipient must be an outstanding adult whose life has served as an inspiration for youth.

· Paragon Awards

o Competitive Diving comes from Diving Committee

o Artistic (Synchronized) Swimming comes from Synchro Committee

o Water Polo This Award comes from Water Polo Committee

o Competitive Swimming comes from USA Swimming Committee

o Recreational Swimming is presented to those leaders in recreational, water park, and public pool who instill the love of swimming into the community

o Aquatic Safety is presented to those dedicated to leading, educating, and promoting water safety and drowning prevention

· ISHOF Specialty Award Recipients

o Buck Dawson Author Award is presented to the author of an aquatics- related book for which the book’s content has had a profound educational or entertaining impact on the aquatic disciplines or population in general.

o ISHOF Service Award is given periodically to an individual who has selflessly volunteered their time, energy and/or resources to advance the interests and work of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

o Judge G. Harold Martin Award is presented for long and exceptional leadership, insight and dedication to the water safety of children and the cause of making Every Child A Swimmer.

o Virginia Hunt Newman Award is presented to those who represent the ideals of Virginia Hunt in Learn to Swim Programs for babies.

o John K. Williams, Jr. International Adapted Aquatics Award was established in 1994 by the Adaptive Aquatics Committee of the International Swimming Hall of Fame this award honors an individual who has made significant and substantial contributions to the field of adaptive aquatics (aquatics for persons with disabilities) as a participant, athlete, teacher, instructor, coach, organizer, administrator or media representative.

o Grande Dame Award is presented to a woman who promoted the interests and projects of the International Swimming Hall of Fame and had an inestimable value to the Hall and its functions.

o Poseidon Award recognizes high level achievement from personal effort or initiative in a field of endeavor that contributes to the performance of marathon swimmers or to the development and status of Marathon Swimming to the world.

o Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award recognizes contributors to the administration of open water swimming.

o Al Schoenfield Media Award is presented to someone who excels in media on an international level

o ISHOF President’s Award is conferred in recognition of an extraordinary or exceptional achievement to promote the mission of the International Swimming Hall of Fame.

When I reflect upon these various awards, there are so many people who are worthy and very deserving of these honors,” says Steven Munatones. “But this year, the potential nominees for these awards from the open water swimming community seem especially worthy.

Induction into the International Swimming Hall of Fame can only come after formal retirement from the sport, but potential honorees include Oussama Mellouli, the first and only double gold medalist in the pool (1500m freestyle) and open water (Olympic 10K Marathon Swim). But then there is also Gregorio Paltrinieri who has the strong potential to replicate the Mellouli Double and win gold medals in both the 1500m and 10K races in the Tokyo Olympic Games this summer.

When I think of the Golden Medallion, and the impact of not only the COVID-19 pandemic, but also the ongoing scourge of diabetes, scientist and researcher David Alleva immediately comes to mind. He was not only an outstanding pool swimmer at Indiana University under Doc Counsilman and James Kegley, but also one of the best professional marathon swimmers and a leading researcher in immunology in contemporary times [see WOWSA Live interview below].

David Alleva on WOWSA Live with Ned Denison

For both the Paragon Awards for Aquatic Safety and the ISHOF John K. Williams, Jr. International Adapted Aquatics Award, I can think of no one more creative than Bruckner Chase [shown above]. Not only has Bruckner created the innovative Wave Safe – Ocean Safety video series with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration that touches the lives of millions of beach-goers, but he also created the ocean paddling program with the Bacharach Institute for Rehabilitation where he and his wife Michelle specializes in taking individuals with strokes, spinal cord injuries, and traumatic brain injuries into pools and Atlantic Ocean [called the Ocean City Swim Club / Bacharach Rehabilitation Hospital Swimming and Paddling Unified Team Program].

The Buck Dawson Author Award has all kinds of potential nominees and winners. Just this year alone, I would think a decision between all these books would be a very tough call:

Copyright © 2008 – 2021 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones