The Beauty Of The Waikiki Roughwater Swim

The Beauty Of The Waikiki Roughwater Swim

The top Australian ocean swimmers have dominated the annual Waikiki Roughwater Swim in the recent past with absolutely dominating victories by Trent Grimsey and Luane Rowe in 2008 and 2009.

What will 2010 bring in the swim that served as the inspiration of the Ironman triathlon?

The race will definitely be excited, but the real beauty of the Waikiki Roughwater Swim is that it draws people from around the world of all ages, abilities and backgrounds. A look at the 2007 Waikiki Roughwater Swim proves this point.

1. Noa Sakamoto (Honolulu, Hawaii), 43:37
2. Brendan Capell (Brisbane, Australia), 43:47
3. Vladimir Dyatchin (Russia), 43:49
4. Ous Mellouli (Tunisia), 44:06
5. Andrew Beato (Quakers Hill, Australia), 44:15
6. John Flanagan (Honolulu, Hawaii), 44:17
7. David Browne (Brisbane, Australia), 44:18
8. Kalen Darling (Honolulu, Hawaii), 45:52
9. Evgeni Bezruchenko (Russia), 47:32
10. Alex Kostich (Los Angeles, California), 47:55
11. Marcos Diaz (Dominican Republic), 49:50

Photo shows Trent Grimsey winning at the King of the Sea Challenge in Rio de Janeiro.

Copyright © 2010 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones