Call For Nominees For The Paragon Awards

Call For Nominees For The Paragon Awards

Call For Nominees For The Paragon Awards

Courtesy of the International Swimming Hall of Fame, Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

The International Swimming Hall of Fame announced the call for nominations for the 2020 Paragon Awards on April 24th 2020 during the International Swimming Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony weekend.

Candidates may be nominated in the following categories:

1. Competitive Swimming
2. Competitive Diving
3. Competitive Synchronized Swimming
4. Competitive Water Polo
5. Aquatic Safety
6. Recreational Swimming

The Awards are presented for outstanding contributions and leadership within the category. Nominations are requested by January 31st and should be Dr. Ivonne Schmid, International Swimming Hall of Fame, 1 Hall of Fame Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316, USA (email Dr. Schmid. All relevant data to support the nominations, the aquatic category for nomination, as well as a brief biography of each individual and a high-resolution image are requested. Sponsorship of the Paragon Awards has been generously provided by Paragon Aquatics since 1996. “Paragon is honored to be associated with the International Swimming Hall of Fame and to recognize leaders in the aquatic industry who play a prominent role in the promotion of swimming,” said Jim Drozdowski of Paragon Aquatics.

Professionals focused on safety in the open water swimming world is often acknowledged in the Aquatic Safety and other categories. These recipients have included:

2019: Chief Peter Davis
2018: Jill White
2017: National Swimming Pool Foundation
2016: Kate Rew (Recreational Swimming), USA Swimming Foundation (Aquatic Safety)
2015: Peter G. Wernicki, M.D.
2014: Sid Cassidy (Competitive Swimming), Bob Burnside (Aquatic Safety)
2013: Joost Bierens, MD, PhD
2012: Ralph Goto [shown above on right]
2011: Farhad Madani
2010: B. Christopher Brewster [shown above on left]
2009: Stathis Avramidis, Ph.D.
2007: Judith Sperling
2006: Shawn DeRosa
2005: Bob Johnson
2004: Tom Griffiths, Ed.D.
2003: Suity Cureton
2002: Joe A. Pecoraro
2001: Dr. John Fletemeyer
2000: Steve Graves
1999: Rob McKay
1998: John M. Malatak
1997: Thomas C. Werts
1996: Christine M. Branche-Dorsey, Ph.D.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones