Cancun's 15K FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix

Cancun’s 15K FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix

The athletes competing in the FINA 15 km Open Water Swimming Grand Prix race (Maratón Cancún) in Cancun, Mexico today include the same athletes who competed in Tuesday’s FINA 10K Marathon Swimming World Cup.

The athletes were treated very well by the Federación Mexicana de Natación who hosted the 88 marathon swimmers, coach, administrators and race officials on a magnificent seaside resort hotel Hotel Be Live Grand Viva Beach.

Thomas Lurz, winner from Tuesday’s race, is competing on the exact same course as Tuesday’s 10 km race…just a few more loops around the beautifully clear Caribbean waters.

Jana Pechanová (CZECH REPUBLIC)
Silvie Rybarova (CZECH REPUBLIC)
Swann Oberson (SWITZERLAND)
Esther Nuñez Morera (SPAIN)
Waaijer Maaike (NETHERLANDS)
Alejandra González (MEXICO, shown above)
Angela Maurer (GERMANY)
Nadine Reichert (GERMANY)
Ines Hahn (GERMANY)
Pilar Geijo (ARGENTINA)

Luciano Martin Sales Rubio (ARGENTINA)
Damian Blaum (ARGENTINA)
Davy Billiau (BELGIUM)
Brian Ryckeman (BELGIUM)
Petar Stoychev (BULGARIA)
Michael Mrúzek (CZECH REPUBLIC)
Rostislav Vitek (CZECH REPUBLIC)
Jan Posmourny (CZECH REPUBLIC)
Thomas Lurz (GERMANY)
Christian Reichert (GERMANY)
Andreas Waschburger (GERMANY)
Chris Bryan (IRELAND)
Michael Dmitriev (ISRAEL)
Andrea Volpini (ITALY)
Manuel Chiu (MEXICO)
Iván Lopez (MEXICO)
Alan Rojas (MEXICO)
Luis Escobar (MEXICO)

Photos are courtesy of the Federación Mexicana de Natación.

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones