Catarina Ganzeli, Matheus Evangelista Win Okimoto Trophy

Catarina Ganzeli, Matheus Evangelista Win Okimoto Trophy

Courtesy of Satiro Sodré, Guilherme Freitas, Copacabana Beach, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Over 3,000 swimmers participated in the Rei e Rainha do Mar’s 10 km Super Challenge, 5 km Challenge, 2.5 km Classic and 1 km Sprint races on Copacabana Beach this weekend.

The longest race of the weekend was the 10 km Super Challenge where the winners received the new Poliana Okimoto Trophy in honor of the Olympic bronze medalist. Catarina Ganzeli [shown above] continued her winning ways after victories at the 24 km Maratona Aquática 14 Bis and Rio Negro Challenge Amazonia with a 2 hour 26 minute swim, finishing 5th overall. Gabriela Moraes in 2 hours 34 minutes 1 second was second and Beatriz Puciarelli was third in 2 hours 34 minutes 41 seconds.

Matheus Evangelista of Grêmio Náutico União won the men’s 10 km in 2 hours 8 minutes with Luiz Felipe Lebeis in second in 2 hours 10 minutes and Artur Pedroza in third in 2 hours 11 minutes with 137 swimmers completely the 4-loop Super Challenge in the Atlantic Ocean with the water temperature between 16-18°C.

The 5 km Challenge saw Carlos Aguiar and Ana Luiza Mourão standing on top of the podium with a 1 hour 7 minute 6 second swim and 1 hour 13 minute 21 second swim respectively.

Carlos Rosa (1 hour 7 minutes 20 seconds) and Daniel Cunha (1 hour 10 minutes 34 seconds) as well as Raquel Goto (1 hour 20 minutes) and Lygia Pereira (1 hour 22 minutes) were also on the podium.

Matheus Avelar won the 2.5 km Classic in 31:46 followed by Daniel Silva (31:56) and Luis Rogério Arapiraca (33:16). In the women’s 2.5k Classic, Rafaela Souza won in 34:19 followed by Maria Fernanda Costa (37:33) and Bianca Ewald (37:37). In the 1 km Sprint, Daniel Cunha won the men’s race in 13:42 followed by Guilherme Aquino (14:06) and Armando Junior (14:08). In the women’s 1 km, Priscila Klaes won in 16:18 followed by Pamela Engel (16:23) and Gabriela Alves (16:38).

The full results of the event is posted here.

The elite professional competition was televised on TV Globo here, here and here [available only in Brazil].

Copyright © 2008-2017 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones