Celebrating Champions, Honoring Heroes At The Virtual Class Of 2020 IMSHOF Induction & Awards Ceremony

Celebrating Champions, Honoring Heroes At The Virtual Class Of 2020 IMSHOF Induction & Awards Ceremony

Courtesy of Ned Denison, International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

In the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, lockdowns, quarantines, limited travel abilities, and stay-at-home mandates, the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame did not want to skip another year without its annual induction ceremonies.

Ned Denison, chairperson of the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame, has been planning for months with Melissa Cunningham-Roberts and their colleagues to create a virtual induction ceremony. “IMSHOF will run a live virtual Class of 2020 Induction & Awards Ceremony on Zoom. This virtual event from the safety and comfort of your own home – with your family – on May 1st and 2nd, depending on where you are located around the world. At the end of April, we will supply the ZOOM connection details at www.imshof.org.

The time and date of the virtual ceremonies are as follows:

Saturday, May 1st
12:00 pm – 2 pm in Los Angeles
1:00 pm – 3:00 pm in Denver and Mexico City
2:00 pm – 4:00 pm in Chicago
3:00 pm – 5:00 pm in New York and Toronto
4:00 pm – 6:00 pm in Rio de Janeiro and Buenos Aires
8:00 pm – 10:00 pm in London and Dublin
9:00 pm – 11:00 pm in Amsterdam, Budapest, Rome, Cairo, and Cape Town
10:00 pm – 12:00 am in Athens, Moscow, and Tel Aviv

Sunday, May 2nd
00:30 am – 2:30 am in Mumbai
3:00 am – 5:00 am in Perth and Hong Kong
5:00 am – 7:00 am in Melbourne and Sydney
7:00 am – 9:00 am in Auckland

Honorees to be Recognized
Cameron Bellamy (South Africa) Honor Swimmer
Damián Blaum (Argentina) Honor Swimmer
Marcia Cleveland (USA) Honor Swimmer
Captain Nabil Elshazly (Egypt) Honor Swimmer
Bryan Finlay, PhD (Canada) Honor Administrator
Spiros Gianniotis (Greece) Honor Swimmer
Massimo Giuliani (Italy) Honor Contributor
IJsselmeer Zwemmarathon (Netherlands) Honor Contributor
Esther Nuñez Morera (Spain) Honor Swimmer
Walter Poenisch (USA) Honor Swimmer
Éva Risztov (Hungary) Honor Swimmer
Doug Woodring (Hong Kong) Honor Administrator
S.A. “Sid” Cassidy (USA) Irving Davids/Captain Roger W. Wheeler Memorial Award
Petar Stoychev (Bulgaria) Poseidon Award
Beth Yudovin (USA) Dale Petranech Award

Copyright © 2008 – 2021 at World Open Water Swimming Association