Claudio Plit Voted In International Swimming Hall Of Fame

Claudio Plit Voted In International Swimming Hall Of Fame

After one of the longest and most successful career as a pro swimmer where he competed in over 250 pro races, Argentina’s Claudio Plit was selected for enshrinement in a special election by the International Swimming Hall of Fame as an Honor Open Water Swimmer. Plit will join the pantheon of other aquatic greats including the following individuals in the Open Water category:

* Sandra Bucha (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* Jon Erikson (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* Judith van Berkel-de Njis (Netherlands) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* David Yudovin (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* Mercedes Gleitze (Great Britain) – Honor Open Water Pioneer Swimmer
* George Young (Canada) – Honor Open Water Pioneer Swimmer
* Dale Petranech (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Contributor

Plit (born in 1954) is currently the race director of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup in Viedma and the the Mar de Plata and Maratón Acuática Internacional Ciudad de Rosario, both in Argentina. Before his role as a race director, Plit competed in and won every major professional marathon swim around the world over a 30-year period.

During his peak between 1974 and 1985, he first or second nine times and finished in the top 3 in 45 professional marathon swims throughout North and South America, Europe and Africa. He has completed more than 250 marathon swims over 8 hours in duration including fourteen 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda winning four times in 1974, 1975, 1976 and 1977, the English Channel twice, and the Beltquerung. He swam in 17 Traversée internationale du lac Memphremagog from Vermont to Canada and competed in 15 Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in Italy, winning 4 times.

He swam 20 Atlantic City Around-the-Island Marathon Swims, the 88 km Hernandarias–Parana Marathon and won races in the Nile River and the Suez Canal. He also competed in 25 Traversée international du lac St-Jean events, winning four total including 3 two-way 64 km Traversée international du lac St-Jean races against his nemesis Philip Rush.

He remains active as a coach and escorts swimmers participating on the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix professional circuit and 25 swimmers who have crossed the English Channel. He has been a guest presenter at FINA open water seminars and was declared an Honorary Citizen of Roberval in Quebec, Canada and served as the president of the World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation from 1980-1982 and 1990.

Copyright © 2014 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones