Coach Of The Year Nominations Wanted

Coach Of The Year Nominations Wanted

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Southern Pacific Masters Swimming is calling for 2016 Coach of the Year nominations to be submitted by March 15th.

Swimmers should submit up to four substantial letters describing your coach and why they should be the next Southern Pacific Masters Swimming Coach of The Year,” announced Dan Wegner.

The more qualifications in the various coaching attributes will help your favorite coach out.”

All letters of nomination should be sent to the SPMS Registrar, Dan Wegner, at before March 15th.

Many open water swimming coaches have been honored with the SPMS Coach of the Year award over time:

2015 Chad Durieux
2014 Victor Hecker
2013 Mark Moore
2012 Chad Durieux
2011 Mary Jackson Lombard
2010 Ken Brisbin
2009 Chad Durieux
2008 Nancy Reno
2007 Vanessa Mesia
2006 Tom Boyd
2005 Victor Hecker
2004 Mark Moore
2003 Mark Moore
2002 Carole Shigaki
2001 Michael Collins
1999 Brandon Seider
1998 John Kocker
1997 Gerry Rodrigues [shown above] and Rick Goeden
1996 Gary Reese
1995 Philip Hayman

Chad Durieux is typical of the passion shown daily by these masters swimming coaches. “I started coaching summer teams in Canada when I was 18 and have been coaching ever since. I moved [to Pasadena, California] five years ago to work for the Rose Bowl Aquatics Center and am still loving it.”

The purpose of this award is to recognize the SPMS swimming coach who has demonstrated outstanding coaching qualities, club development and overall SPMS participation. Outstanding contributions to his or her club and its individuals are measured by accomplishments over the past year (both club and individual), club size and growth, club results at national championships, regional events, open water swims, postal events, the number of records set, All-American and Top 10 ranked swimmers. In addition, publications, articles, clinics, lectures are considered as are contributions to United States Masters Swimming and Southern Pacific Masters Swimming, swim meets hosted, clinics run, SPMS positions, presentations, speaking engagements.

Copyright © 2008-2017 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones