Colin Hill Inducted In Marathon Swimming Hall Of Fame

Colin Hill Inducted In Marathon Swimming Hall Of Fame

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Innovative, creative, passionate, organized and articulate.

These are only a few well-deserved adjectives for Colin Hill.

Hill of Great Britain was recently selected as an Honour Contributor (Administrator) in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame in its Class of 2017. Hill joins a stellar group of swimmers, administrators, escort pilots and organisations that will be inducted and honored on April 22nd at the 2017 International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame induction ceremonies in Windsor, England.

Hill has literally done everything in the sport, from race organization to ice swimming.

He is the visionary behind the British Gas Great Swim Series and developed the concept to make open water appealing to the general public. The British Gas Great North Swim is now one of the biggest mass participation swims in the world.

He was also the Marathon Swimming Technical Operations Manager for the London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games at the 2012 London Olympic Games. The Olympic 10K Marathon Swim that Hill produced showcased the sport of open water swimming like never before.

He also appears frequently on British television programs and is frequently named as one of the 101 Movers And Shakers In The Open Water Swimming World.

After his Olympic success, Hill set up Chillswim and organizes the Big Chill Swim in Windermere in the Lake District of England. He also completed an ice swim in Windermere in 2013 and organizes the Chillswim Coniston – 5.25 miles End to End, the Big Chill Swim Salford, the Chillswim Boxing Day Dip, and the historic Windermere Cross Lake Swim in Windermere, England.

Hill received the Open Water Ambassador of the Year award at the 2012 H2Open Awards and was nominated for the 2012, 2014 and 2016 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year awards.*

He was the first person to swim from shore to shore across Kielder Water in northeast England in 2014 and was a speaker at the 2014 FINA World Aquatics Conference on The Future of Aquatics.

He crossed the English Channel in 10 hours 30 minutes and completed one of the fastest ice mile swims in history in 2013 in Windermere in 4.7°C water and 4.4°C air in 24:22. He has completed a two-way crossing of Windermere, was the age group 450m champion at the 2012 Winter Swimming World Championships in Latvia, won the 5 km Hellespont Race (200th anniversary swim of Lord Byron’s Crossing) in Turkey, completed a crossing of the Strait of Messina in Italy, did a Strait of Gibraltar crossing in 2011, and did swims including the Distance Swim Challenge in California, Setubal Bay in Portugal, and did a 48-mile 6-person relay in Loch Earne, Ireland.

Colin is a wonderful, tireless ambassador of the sport and has an eye for detail to make swims memorable, unique, competitive and safe for swimmers of all ages and abilities,” says Steven Munatones. “He can talk strategy with Olympians, he can discuss basic swimming strokes with newcomers, he can advise people how to create ideal safety nets in mass participation events. He works with FINA and he works with newbies; he works with sponsors and with local government authorities. His versatility is impressive.”

He has done it all…and he has decades longer to do even more in the sport.

For more information on the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame, visit its website at or its Facebook page here.

* Hill was among the nominees for the 2016 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year award:

1. Roger Finch (South Africa)
2. Seti Afoa (Samoa)
3. Tomi Stefanovski (Macedonia)
4. Edoardo Stochino (Italy)
5. Ferry Weertman (Netherlands)
6. Nejib Belhedi (Tunisia)
7. Ger Kennedy (Ireland)
8. Alex Kostich (USA)
9. Masayuki Moriya (Japan)
10. Colin Hill (Great Britain)
11. Ingemar Patiño Macarine (Philippines)
12. Lewis Pugh (Great Britain)
13. Christof Wandratsch (Germany)

To vote for the WOWSA Awards, visit here. Online voting continues until December 31st 2016.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones