David Yudovin Voted In International Swimming Hall Of Fame

David Yudovin Voted In International Swimming Hall Of Fame

After a lifetime to doing unprecedented swims around the world, David Yudovin (U.S.A.) was selected for enshrinement in a special election by the International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) as an Honor Open Water Swimmer.

Yudovin will join the pantheon of other aquatic greats and the following individuals in the International Swimming Hall of Fame in the Open Water Swimming category:

* Sandra Bucha (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* Jon Erikson (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* Claudio Plit (Argentina) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* Judith van Berkel-de Njis (Netherlands) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* David Yudovin (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Swimmer
* Mercedes Gleitze (Great Britain) – Honor Open Water Pioneer Swimmer
* George Young (Canada) – Honor Open Water Pioneer Swimmer
* Dale Petranech (U.S.A.) – Honor Open Water Swimming Contributor

Yudovin is one of the most prolific marathon swimmers in history, known for pioneering channel swimming firsts that span the globe. The Californian is an Honour Swimmer in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame, a lifetime member of the Catalina Channel Swimming Federation, a lifetime member of the Santa Barbara Channel Swimming Association, and a member of the Half Century Club.

Yudovin began channel swimming in 1976 and has remained active for the last 38 years as an athlete, pilot, support crew and mentor. Yudovin has completed over 35 marathon and channel swims that has included 15 firsts. He and his wife, Beth, are also currently very active volunteers in their community, after retiring in 2005 from three seafood related companies they founded and ran for over 25 years. Yudovin is now involved in public speaking to raise money for the City of Hope Cancer Center, Senior Nutrition, Cambria Community Bus, and North Coast Ocean Rescue, and the Cambria Fire Department.

His swims have spanned New Zealand, Indonesia, Japan, California, Mexico, Azores Islands and Madiera Islands in Portugal, Cape Verde in Africa, and include:

* 4 Catalina Channel crossings – 1976, 1986, 1993, 1995
* Santa Barbara Channel, Santa Cruz Island – 1983
* Strait of Gibraltar – 1985
* Tsugaru Strait, Japan – 1990
* English Channel – 1996
* Sunda Strait, Indonesia – Java to Sumatra – 2000
* Cook Strait, New Zealand – 2004
* Cape Verde, Africa – Maio to Santiago Islands – 2013

Copyright © 2014 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones