Distance Matters With The Angry Fish

Distance Matters With The Angry Fish

Whiskey Joe’s Thirteenth Annual 24 Mile Tampa Bay Marathon Swim is scheduled on April 17th.

According to Race Director and Founder Ron Collins, over fifty swimmers will compete in this year’s event as either solo marathoners or a relay members.

The 24-mile race covers the entire length of Tampa Bay, Florida and is a celebration of Earth Day and the revitalization of Florida’s largest estuary.

U.S. Masters Swimming’s longest sanctioned race started in 1998 and has attracted competitors from America, Great Britain, Guatemala, Italy, Australia, Dominican Republic, Germany, India, Canada and the Cayman Islands. The solo swimmers include Craig Lenning (30) of Colorado, Terry Laughlin (59) of New York, David Barra (45) of New York (shown on left), Darren Miller (27) of Pennsylvania, Flavia Zappa (43) of Florida, Jacqueline Eastridge (49) of Pennsylvania, Jim Meier (65) of New York, New York, and Jose Serra (36) of Guatemala.

The relays include The Angry Fish (Kathryn Kirmayer (46) Silver Spring, Maryland, Bill Couch (46) Watertown, New York, Rob Benson (41) Mount Desert, Maine, Chris Kirwan (44) Overland Park, Kansas, and John Young (34) Davidson, North Carolina. 3 Y’S Guys Swim for Richard (Paul Kiell (79) Far Hills, New Jersey, Doug Munch (63) Morristown, New Jersey, Martino Caretto (59) Basking Ridge, New Jersey) and Team Endurance Trust (Kim Plewa (27) Rahway, New Jersey, Michelle Nelson (38) Lake Worth, Florida. Tar Heel Alumni (Patrick Woodruff (26) Durham, North Carolina, Greg Sanchez (52) Cary, North Carolina, Tucker Shade (33) Raleigh, North Carolina, Paul Weir (24) New York, New York, Kelly Woodruff (24) Raleigh, North Carolina, Erin Cutrell (25) Raleigh, North Carolina.

Copyright © 2010 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones