Down The Paraná In The World's Longest Open Water Race

Down The Paraná In The World’s Longest Open Water Race

Belen Gaberione of the Maratón Hernandarias-Paraná announced the 24 athletes are entered in the 88 km FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix event from Hernandarias to Paraná in Argentina on February 10th. Most of these swimmers will also be competing in the 15 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Ciudad de Rosario 2 weeks before and the 57 km Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda the week before. So the 24 aquatic gladiators have a lot of swimming during a 14-day period – 160 kilometers or nearly 100 miles in total.

Without the dominant Petar Stoychev of Bulgaria or his Australian successor Trent Grimsey competing in the early races on the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit, many swimmers have their eyes on the top step of the podium this year. On the women’s side, Pilar Geijo of Argentina took time to train intensely in Australia in preparation, so she looks strong and is ready to get back her Grand Prix title in 2013.

1. Ivan Afanevich of Russia
2. Guillermo Bertola of Argentina
3. Damian Blaum of Argentina
4. Antonella Bogarin of Argentina
5. Fausto Brondo of Argentina
6. Martin Carrizo Y. of Argentina
7. Fernando Ciaramella of Argentina
8. Rita Vanesa Garcia of Argentina (shown above)
9. Mauricio Gatica of Argentina
10. Pilar Geijo of Argentina
11. Olgaf Kazydub of Russia
12. Lexie Kelly of USA
13. Mariana Mello of Brasil
14. Dejan Mladenovski of Macedonia
15. Saleh Mohammad of Syria
16. Daniela Moretto of Argentina
17. Esther Nuñez of Spain
18. Noelia Petti of Argentina
19. Evgenij Pop Acev of Macedonia
20. Sales Rubio of Argentina
21. Karla Sitic of Croatia
22. Tomi Stefanovsky of Macedonia
23. Gabriel Villagoiz of Argentina
24. Tsvetan Yordanov of Bulgaria

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source