Dwight Crum Highlights The West Coast Open Water Scene

Dwight Crum Highlights The West Coast Open Water Scene

The biggest ocean swim on the West Coast of the United States will be held tomorrow: the 2-mile Dwight Crum Pier-to-Pier Swim.

The Dwight Crum Pier-to-Pier Swim (also known as the Manhattan Beach Swim) is a memorial swim that is part of Manhattan Beach‘s annual International Surf Festival. It is one of America’s Top 100 Open Water Swims and is a point-to-point ocean swim held in Los Angeles, California. The race is one of the most popular open water swims in America. The race starts on the south side of Hermosa Beach Pier and finishes on the north side of the Manhattan Beach Pier.

Who is the namesake for this event?

Dwight Crum was the Lifeguard Captain in the South Bay in Southern California and the first coordinator when the International Surf Festival began in 1962. He held this position until his retirement in 1972. He was also a lobster and abalone diver and a swimming and water polo referee as well as one of the founders of the United States Lifesaving Association.

When he retired, the Dwight Crum Pier-to-Pier Swim was renamed in his honor. Crum swam the Pier-to-Pier Swim every year until the age of 72.

1,141 swimmers completed the race in 2021 – see results below. This year, Kelsey Cummings and Ryan Bullock will be hard to beat and the defending champions.  Kelsey Cummings has won the event in 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2021 (she was 2nd in 2016) while Ryan Bullock won in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2021.

For more information on the race (entries are now closed), visit here. The race starts at 9:00 am and the athletes are divided into three separate heats with the non-wetsuit men starting first.

2021 Top 10 Male Non-wetsuit Results:

  1. Ryan Bullock (37) 36:33
  2. Markus Rogan (39) 38:20
  3. Zachary Yakubik (17) 38:26
  4. Kai Griley (17) 38:29
  5. Kevin Fink (25) 38:34 – overall winner in 2013 and 2015

2021 Top 5 Female Non-wetsuit Results:

  1. Kelsey Cummings (28) 39:27
  2. Amy Dantzler (57) 41:56
  3. Miko Baron (15) 42:16
  4. Clare Larsen (21) 42:22
  5. Maria Carlson (25) 43:27

And the Crum legacy lives on. Gary Crum is shown below with his father Dwight (the namesake of the race) as a child. Gary has been the long-time race director and remains so to this day. Gary is shown below with winner Taylor Spivey after 2013 Dwight Crum Pier-to-Pier Swim.

Copyright © 2008 – 2022 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones