Ferry Weertman Selected As 2015 LEN Award Winner

Ferry Weertman Selected As 2015 LEN Award Winner

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

LEN (Ligue Européenne de Natation) announced its 2015 Open Water Swimmer of the Year: Ferry Weertman of the Netherlands and Aurélie Muller of France.

Weertman just edged out Simone Ruffini as LEN determined that the Dutchman’s two silver medals in Kazan in the 10 km and the 5 km team trial were weighed just a bit more heavily than the Italian’s 25 km world title.

Weertman and Muller will be honored in May at the LEN Aquatic European Championships in London.

LEN Awards 2015
Ferry Weertman (NED) 28.3%
Simone Ruffini (ITA) 26.1%
Christian Reichert (GER) 19.6%
Matteo Furlan (ITA) 13.0%
Rob Muffels (GER) 13.0%

LEN Awards – All-time Winners
2008: Maarten van der Weijden (Netherlands)
2009: Thomas Lurz (Germany)
2010: Valerio Cleri (Italy)
2011: Thomas Lurz (Germany)
2012: Thomas Lurz (Germany)
2013: Thomas Lurz (Germany)
2014: Thomas Lurz (Germany)
2015: Ferry Weertman (Netherlands)

Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association