Ferry Weertman To Return To Copacabana Beach

Ferry Weertman To Return To Copacabana Beach

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Ferry Weertman swam the most dramatic, most exciting, most impressive race of his life in winning the 10 km marathon swim at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

His out-touching of Greek silver medalist Spyridon Gianniotis represented the closest race during his short, but storied, career.

Weertman will return to Copacabana Beach in December to participate in the King and Queen of the Sea (Rei e Rainha do Mar in Portuguese), together with his Dutch teammate Esmee Vermeulen.

Weertman is among the nominees for the 2016 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year:

1. Roger Finch (South Africa)
2. Seti Afoa (Samoa)
3. Tomi Stefanovski (Macedonia)
4. Edoardo Stochino (Italy)
5. Ferry Weertman (Netherlands)
6. Nejib Belhedi (Tunisia)
7. Ger Kennedy (Ireland)
8. Alex Kostich (USA)
9. Masayuki Moriya (Japan)
10. Colin Hill (Great Britain)
11. Ingemar Patiño Macarine (Philippines)
12. Lewis Pugh (Great Britain)
13. Christof Wandratsch (Germany)

To vote for the WOWSA Awards, visit here. Online voting continues until December 31st 2016.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones