FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix Female Leaders

FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix Female Leaders

After races in Argentina (Rosario, Santa Fe and Hernandarias-Parana), Mexico (Sumidero Canyon), Italy (Capri-Napoli), Canada (Lac St-Jean and Lac Memphremagog), Serbia (Sabac) and Macedonia (Ohrid Lake) with one race to go in the United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi), Pilar Geijo of Argentina is getting close to wrapping up the 2010 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix title with 124 points.

The longest marathon swimming circuit in the world is 341K (212 miles) in distance with races of 15K (Rosario), 57K (Santa Fe), 88K (Hernandarias-Parana), 15K (Sumidero Canyon), 36K (Capri-Napoli), 32K (Lac St-Jean), 34K (Lac Memphrmagog), 19K (Sabac), 30K (Ohrid Lake) and 15K (Abu Dhabi). The competitors race in water that ranges from 16°C (60.8°F) to 28°C (82.4°F) in venues that can be glassy flat or turgidly turbulent.

To date, 44 women from 24 countries – Argentina, Japan, Serbia, Greece, Brazil, Netherlands, Paraguay, Canada, Germany, Mexico, Guatamala, Belgium, USA, Italy, Czech Republic, Egypt, Denmark, France, Azerbaijan, Spain, Croatia, Montenegro, Slovenia and Australia – have participated in at least one race on the circuit, an indication of great worldwide representation.

The top 10 women after 9 races (of 10) include:

1. Pilar Geijo (ARG) 124 points
2. Esther Nunez Morera (ESP) 106
3. Antonella Bogarin (ARG) 85
4. Shelley Clark (AUS) 58
5. Marianella Mendoza (ARG) 37
6. Noelia Petti (ARG) 31
6. Alessandra Romiti (ITA) 31
7. Karla Sitic (CRO) 25
9. Nicoletta Simonazzi (ITA) 24
10. Ivana Sitic (CRO) 16

Copyright © 2010 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones