Florian Wellbrock, Kristof Rasovszky, Oliver Klemet Secure Olympic Qualificationin Men's 10km Marathon Swimming at World Aquatics Championships 2023

Florian Wellbrock, Kristof Rasovszky, Oliver Klemet Secure Olympic Qualificationin Men’s 10km Marathon Swimming at World Aquatics Championships 2023

Florian Wellbrock of Germany secured his spot in the Paris 2024 Olympic Games by clinching the gold medal in the men’s 10km marathon swimming event at the World Aquatics Championships 2023 in Fukuoka, Japan. Clocking in at an impressive time of 1 hour, 50 minutes, and 40.30 seconds, Wellbrock comfortably outpaced his competitors. Kristof Rasovszky from Hungary claimed the silver medal with a time of 1:50:59.00, while Oliver Klemet ensured a bronze for Germany, touching the finish line in 1:51:00.80.

Expressing his elation, Wellbrock emphasized the significance of qualifying for his third Olympic Games and expressed pride in his teammate, Klemet, who will also join him in Paris.

“The qualification for my third Olympic Games, it was really important. It’s why every athlete was here to compete. Every athlete tried to win the medals and tickets. I’m also proud my teammate Ollie is going to Paris with me,” said Wellbrock.

Notably, Gregorio Paltrinieri of Italy, the defending champion and World Aquatics’ open water swimmer of the year for 2022, finished in fifth place, over a minute behind Wellbrock with a time of 1:51:40.70.

With Wellbrock and Klemet’s successful qualification, Germany boasts a formidable trio alongside Leonie Beck, who secured the gold medal in the women’s 10km event the previous day at the World Aquatics Championships. The German team’s strong performance in open water swimming highlights their potential for success at the upcoming Games.

“I’m so proud of the Germany team. Leonie did an amazing job yesterday, making her way to Paris, and now Ollie and me. It’s so nice to be part of a strong open water team,” Wellbrock expressed.

Source: olympics.com

Photo credit: Kristof Rasovszky, Florian Wellbrock and Oliver Klemet – World Aquatics

1Florian WellbrockGermany1:50:40.3
2Kristóf RasovszkyHungary1:50:59.0
3Oliver KlemetGermany1:51:00.8
4Domenico AcerenzaItaly1:51:16.7
5Gregorio PaltrinieriItaly1:51:40.7
6Athanasios KynigakisGreece1:51:42.1
7Nicholas SlomanAustralia1:51:42.2
8Matan RoditiIsrael1:51:43.8
9Logan FontaineFrance1:52:41.7
10Hector PardoeGreat Britain1:53:04.2
11Paulo StrehlkeMexico1:53:04.4
12Sacha VellyFrance1:53:14.7
13Martin StrakaCzech Republic1:53:16.2
14David FarinangoEcuador1:53:17.1
15Esteban EndericaEcuador1:53:18.7
16Dávid BetlehemHungary1:53:30.9
17Jan HercogAustria1:54:02.2
18Logan VanhuysBelgium1:54:03.1
19Guillem PujolSpain1:54:03.1
20Tiago CamposPortugal1:54:05.5
21Franco CassiniArgentina1:54:07.4
22Kaiki FuruhataJapan1:54:07.7
23Diogo CardosoPortugal1:54:08.7
24Joaquín MorenoArgentina1:54:09.7
25Asterios DaldogiannisGreece1:54:10.3
26Christian SchreiberSwitzerland1:54:11.5
27Diogo VillarinhoBrazil1:54:12.2
28Taishin MinamideJapan1:54:12.6
29Daniel DelgadilloMexico1:54:12.7
30Brennan GravleyUnited States1:54:13.0
31Eric HedlinCanada1:54:25.4
32Eric BrownCanada1:55:31.2
33Alexandre FincoBrazil1:55:32.5
34Bailey ArmstrongAustralia1:55:32.8
35Yonatan AhdutIsrael1:57:05.2
36Joey TepperUnited States1:57:23.9
37Ondřej ZachCzech Republic1:57:36.7
38Cho Cheng-chiChinese Taipei1:59:19.7
39Park Jae-hunSouth Korea2:00:09.5
40Johndry SegoviaVenezuela2:00:20.5
41Lan TianchenChina2:00:37.5
42Théo DruenneMonaco2:00:46.8
43Connor BuckSouth Africa2:01:34.7
44Adrián YwanagaPeru2:02:36.0
45Lev CherepanovKazakhstan2:03:08.4
46Zhang ZiyangChina2:03:46.2
47Anurag SinghIndia2:03:52.5
48William Yan ThorleyHong Kong2:04:20.4
49Tomáš PeciarSlovakia2:04:22.2
50Jeison RojasCosta Rica2:04:33.1
51Aflah Fadlan PrawiraIndonesia2:04:41.7
52Joshua AshleySouth Africa2:04:53.6
53Tanakrit KittiyaThailand2:05:07.4
54Keith SinHong Kong2:05:36.1
55Ritchie OhSingapore2:05:36.3
56Daniil AndrossovKazakhstan2:05:36.4
57Diego VeraVenezuela2:05:47.8
58Christian BayoPuerto Rico2:06:01.9
59Sung Jun-hoSouth Korea2:06:23.8
60Jamarr BrunoPuerto Rico2:10:19.8
61Damien PayetSeychelles2:11:03.3
62Maximiliano PaccotUruguay2:11:12.6
63Santiago ReyesGuatemala2:12:45.3
64Nikita KornilovUzbekistan2:16:01.9
65Fernando PonceGuatemala2:18:54.5
-David CalderónBoliviaDNF
-Khomchan WichachaiThailandDNF
-Artyom LukasevitsSingaporeDNS
-Juan MoralesColombiaDNS