Fran Crippen SafeSwim Elite Athletes Announced

Fran Crippen SafeSwim Elite Athletes Announced

Top swimmers from around the world will gather at the International Swimming Hall of Fame in Florida this weekend to honor the memory of Fran Crippen.

Top Americans, Australians and Canadians and a handful of other elite swimmers should make the race blazing fast and interesting to watch.

Live tweet coverage will be here.

Olympian Ky Hurst, Australian national team member Rhys Mainstone, top Canadian pro Richard Weinberger, Aimeson King, Zachary Parks and Simon Tobin, world 10K silver medalist Andrew Gemmell (shown above congratulating Fran in the 2009 World Championships in Rome), world 25K champion Alex Meyer, world 10K champion Chip Peterson, national champion Chad LaTourette and other top American men Joey Pedraza and Vincent Donnelly, Yasunari Hirai of Japan, and top Americans will participate in the first Fran Crippen SafeSwim 10K in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.

On the women’s side, world 5K champion Melissa Gorman, top Canadians Nadine Williams, Zsofia Balazs, Karyn Jewell, Olympian Jana Pechanova, world 5K champion Eva Fabian, 2-time FINA World Cup champion Christine Jennings, top American swimmers Emily Brunemann, Claire Thompson and Damaris Iriondo will be competing for the cash prizes in what is hailed as a race setting the standards for open water swimming safety.

The elite athletes like Alex, Mark, Andrew, Eva, Emily and the rest of their American and Canadian swimmers are completing their final tune-ups for their respective national championships.

The Fran Crippen SafeSwim will be held in the same course as the American and Canadian national championships in June – the first step in realizing their dreams to win Olympic medals in 2012.

Read it live here this coming Saturday, May 7th.

Copyright © 2011 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones