Friendship Swim Across La Perouse Strait From Japan To Russia

Friendship Swim Across La Perouse Strait From Japan To Russia

A multinational group of hardened open water swimmers will pioneer a 75 km cross-border relay attempt from Cape Noshappu in Hokkaido, Japan to Cape Krillon in Sakhalin, Russia, across La Perouse Strait in 2022.

In July 2019, the first group of relay members successfully pioneered the swim in the opposite direction (see group members below). Led by the renowned Russian swimmer Aleksandr Brylin, the group swam southwards from Sakhalin, Russia to Hokkaido, Japan. The Speedo diplomacy relay included swimmers from Russia, Japan, China and South Africa and was called the International Swim across La Perouse Channel. “Our motto is ‘Towards the Sun and Friendship: from birch to sakura’,” explained Brylin.  “Between Sakhalin to Hokkaido, the side currents could be up to 8 km per hour for the 25 swimmers who will face water temperature is between 8 – 10°C (46-50°F).  We started the swim on July 18th on Russia’s Cape Krillion and we ended on Japan’s Cape Soya.

The International Swim across La Perouse Channel went across La Pérouse Strait or the Sōya Strait, a strait dividing the southern part of the Russian island of Sakhalin from the northern part of the Japanese island of Hokkaidō that connects the Sea of Japan on the west with the Sea of Okhotsk on the east. La Pérouse Strait is named after Jean-François de Galaup, comte de Lapérouse, who explored it in 1787.

The 2019 International Swim across La Perouse Channel participants included organizer Aleksandr Bolotnikov (Russia), organizer Andrei Khapochkin (Russia), organizer Alekandr Brylin (Russia), swimmer Iaroslav Brylin (Russia), secretariat Viktoriia Brylina (Russia), swimmer Serapfim Priest (Russia), swimmer Svetlana Kositsina (Russia), swimmer Valerii Kuchinskii (Russia), swimmer Yang Shengchun (China), physician Dr. Nataliya Fatyanova (Russia), swimmer Tatiana Alexandrova (Russia), physician Dr. Irina Zhidkova (Russia), swimmer Andrei Agarkov (Russia), swimmer Andrei Mikhalev (Russia), secretariat Viktoriia Mikhaleva (Russia), translator Valentin Sokolov (Russia), organizer Pavel Seleznev (Aspol), organizer Vladimir Skoropupov (Aspol), swimmer Justin Arnaud Coetzee (South Africa), swimmer Timofei Sviatov (Russia, swimmer Masayuki Moriya (Japan), swimmer Tomonari Ogino (Japan), rescue swimmer Andrei Ershov (Russia), swimmer Oksana Eletskaia (Russia), swimmer Tatiana Gavrilenkova (Russia), physician Dr. Gennadii Sim (Russia), media Aleksandr Nazin (Russia), swimmer Aleksander Svinin (Russia), rescue swimmer Alexander Konovalov (Russia), swimmer Ivan Kazakov (Russia), swimmer Victor Fade (Russia), swimmer Igor Belanov (Russia), swimmer Semen Iarochkin (Russia), swimmer Oleg Chekushkin (Russia), swimmer Nikolay Petshak (Russia), rescue swimmer Dmitrii Pomelov (Russia), swimmer Aleksander Iurkov (Russia), swimmer Eduard Orlov (Russia), swimmer Aleksey Zhdanov (Russia), media Shinya Hosokawa (Japan), media Ekaterina Bushueva (Russia), swimmer Artem Meleshko (Russia), and swimmer Evgenii Shevchenko.

Copyright © 2008 – 2021 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones