H2Open Magazine’s Short List Of Nominees

H2Open Magazine’s Short List Of Nominees

H2Open Magazine announced its short list of names for its inaugural Open Water Swimming Awards. The Awards, celebrating achievement in the sport of open water swimming in 2011. Nominations were invited from readers and then sent to a multi-national judging panel for a blind vote to create the short list.

As fans in Great Britain know well two prominent names included the indominable Roger Allsopp and David Walliams whose name appears in both the Charity Swim of the Year and the Inspirational Swim of the Year categories.

But voters in the open water swimming world often vote for youth. And youth was uniquely served once again in the open water swimming community:

Roger, the 70-year-old who swam the English Channel, and Diana Nyad, the 61-year old who attempted to swim from Cuba to Florida, were nominated.

The judges included the following who abstained if there was a category or nominee in which they had a personal or professional connection:

Cassandra Patten, 2008 Beijing Olympics marathon swim bronze medalist
Kate Rew, founder of Outdoor Swimming Society
Nick Adams, President of the Channel Swimming and Piloting Federation
Colin Hill, Marathon Swimming Technical Manager for the 2012 London Olympics
• Duncan Goodhew, Olympic gold medalist and swimming ambassador
Steven Munatones, founder of Open Water Source

The winners will be chosen from the shortlist and will be announced at a ceremony at the Reading Lake Hotel on April 28th The ceremony is the culmination of H2Open Day, a day of open water activities, exhibits, demonstrations and seminars organised by H2Open Magazine in partnership with Triathlon Racing.

Charity Swim of the Year Shortlist:
Channelling Positivity
David Walliams
Roger Allsopp

International Swim of the Year Shortlist:
2011 European Open Water Swimming Junior Championships at Navia (Spain)
Lorne Pier to Pub Swim (Australia)
Rottnest Channel Swim (Australia)
• The Hellespont (Turkey)

Best UK Event Shortlist:
British Long Distance Swimming Association 2-Way Windermere
• Bridge to Bridge (Henley to Marlow, River Thames)
• British Gas Great British Swim Series
Dart 10km

Coach of the Year Shortlist:
• Bernd Berkhahn
• Dan Bullock
• Kari Furre
• Paul Newsome

Innovation of the Year Shortlist:
AquaPulse Waterproof Heart Rate Monitor from FINIS
• Queenford Lake Relays
• Swimovate Poolmate • Zoggs Predator Flex – Polarized

Inspirational Swim of the Year Shortlist:
David Walliams, Thames swimmer
Diana Nyad, Cuba to Florida attempt
Roger Allsopp, oldest English Channel swimmer
Windermere 12-way Warriors

Open Water Ambassador of the Year Shortlist:
Colin Hill
Kate Rew
Steven Munatones
Thomas Noblett

Open Water Swimmer of the Year Shortlist:
Forrest Nelson (USA)
Oliver (Ollie) Wilkinson (Australia)
Roger Allsopp (UK)
Stephen Redmond (Ireland)

For more information, to participate in the H2Open Day, to sponsor or exhibit, visit www.h2openmagazine.com.

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones