Learn & Ask About Ice Swimming with Dr. Ice, Ger Kennedy

Learn & Ask About Ice Swimming with Dr. Ice, Ger Kennedy

How in the world does Ger Kennedy swim 2 km in 0.5°C water with the air temperature at -15°C in Siberia of all places?

What does he think about before, during and after he swims? How does he prepare himself physically and mentally?

On December 7th at 7:00 pm UK time (see time in different time zones below), Dr. Ice will explain and will take live Questions & Answers about how to:

  • Learn how to swim through winter without a wetsuit
  • Learn how to safely and gradually acclimate
  • How to prepare mentally for the cold water
  • How to create cold water training plans
  • The best recovery & re-warming recovery process

The training plans range from how to progress from a (normal) open water swimmer to becoming an Ice Swimmer at different levels of extreme endurance:

Listen in and ask your questions from this renowned Irish expert during the following time zones:

  • London, United Kingdom Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 19:00 GMT
  • Prague, Czechia Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 20:00 CET
  • Paris, France Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 20:00 CET
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 20:00 CET
  • Cape Town, South Africa Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 21:00 SAST
  • Mexico City, Mexico Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 13:00 CST
  • New York, USA Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 14:00 EST
  • Los Angeles, USA Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 11:00 PST
  • Melbourne, Australia Thu, 8 Dec 2022 at 06:00 AEDT

He knows what he is talking about; he has completed 13 official Ice Miles and 7 unofficial Ice Miles between 2013 and 2020 throughout Europe, North America, the Arctic, Africa, Asia, Oceania,South America, and Antarctica.

Official Ice Miles by Ger Kennedy:

  1. February 2013 in Lough Dan, Co. Wicklow, Ireland in 3.3°C water, 1 mile in 40 minutes
  2. February 2014 in Lough Dan, Co. Wicklow, Ireland in 3.3°C water, 1.02 miles in 37 minutes 5 seconds
  3. March 2014 in Lough Dan, Co. Wicklow, Ireland in 3.3°C water, 1.3 miles in 51 minutes 10 seconds
  4. February 2015 in Grand Canal Dock, Dublin City, Ireland in 4.8°C water, 1 mile in 36 minutes 15 seconds
  5. January 2016 in Wild Water Armagh, Ireland in 0.77°C water, 1 mile in 32 minutes 30 seconds
  6. March 2017 in Mikkelvik Brygge, Norway in 2.53°C water, 1.0 mile in 34 minutes 5 seconds
  7. December 2017 in Tyumen, Siberia, Russia in 0.5°C water (with -18.80°C wind chill), 1.25 miles in 43 minutes 10 seconds
  8. January 2018 in Lake Ouiouane, Khenifra, Morocco in 3.77°C water, 1.04 miles in 37 minutes 10 seconds at 1630 meters above sea level
  9. February 2018 in M Street Beach, Boston, USA in 4.77°C water, 1 mile in 32 minutes 15 seconds
  10. March 2018 in Dublin, Ireland in 4.7°C water, 1.1 miles in 34 minutes 13 seconds
  11. June 2019 in Thredbo Reservoir, Australia in in 2.8°C water, 5.0°C air, 1.09 miles in 38 minutes 2 seconds
  12. October 2019 in Laguna de Incas in Portillo, Chile at 2880m altitude in 3.9°C water, 2.1°C air, 1.1 miles in 36 minutes 55 seconds
  13. February 2020 in Paradise Bay, Antarctica in 0.53°C water, -1.1°C air, 1.03 miles in 34 minutes 2 seconds

Copyright © 2008 – 2022 by World Open Water Swimming Association