International Professional Swimming Association Drew Stars

International Professional Swimming Association Drew Stars

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

In the lobby of the Hotel McAlpin on Manhattan Island in New York on September 21st 1927, the lobby was filled with luminaries from a golden era of professional open water swimming.

A group of that generation’s greatest aquatic stars, organizers, Olympians and marathon swimmers got together and formed the International Professional Swimmers Association. From its New York headquarters, the Association was formed to promote swimming throughout the world as an international sport and planned to issue a monthly publication to authenticate and keep records of a professional swimming events.

Its officers included:

* William Wrigley, Jr., Honorary President
* Captain George H. Maines, Active President
* William Burgess of Dover, England, Vice President
* Elwood Hughes of Toronto, Canada, Vice President
* C. Compton of Long Beach. California, Vice President
* Lou Timson of Boston, Massachusetts, Secretary and Treasurer

The Board of Governors of the organization consisted of:

* Edward Keating of New York
* William Erickson of New York
* Byron Summers of San Francisco
* Lottie Schoemmell of Lake George, New York
* Eva Morrison of Boston, Massachusetts
* Ernest Vierkoetter of Berlin, Germany
* Paul Chotteau of Paris, France
* William Sadlo Jr. of New York
* Ethel Hertle of New York
* Mobile Bill Jackson of Mobile, Alabama
* Leo Purcell of San Francisco, California
* May Elwell of Revere, Massachusetts
* Sam Swartz of Glens Falls, New York
* Captain T. W. Sheffield of Balboa, California
* Johnny Walker of Toronto, Canada
* Olaf Farstadt of Norway
* Ernst M. Smith of San Francisco, California
* Charles Toth of Boston, Massachusetts
* Henry Sullivan of Lowell, Massachusetts
* James Burns of New York
* Edith Hedin of Toronto, Canada
* Harold “Stubby” Kruger of Hawaii
* Georges Michel of Paris, France
* Norman Ross of Chicago, Illinois
* Clarence Ross of New York
* George Young of Toronto, Canada, Associate Member for Life
* Gertrude Ederle, Associate Member for Life
* Millie Gade Corson, Associate Member for Life

Copyright © 2014 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones