Ion Lazarenco Tiron Swimming For Others, Part 2

Ion Lazarenco Tiron Swimming For Others, Part 2

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Ion Lazarenco Tiron of the Republic of Moldava was one of the nominees for the 2018 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year, whose voting ends tonight. Ion Lazarenco Tiron did his first major open water swim with a 235 km Swimming Marathon Nistru – Unites Moldova stage swim that took 8 days – and raised lots of money for charity. He forged on and ultimately developed a massively hardened veneer and a tough mental attitude in his adopted Ireland.

This year, he culminated his four-year Oceans Seven journey with a successful crossing of the Cook Strait. Along the way in the midst of receiving a slew of awards in Ireland and completing an Ice Mile, he has completed the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming as well as crossings of the Strait of Gibraltar (4 hours 41 minutes), English Channel (13 hours 34 minutes), North Channel (16 hours 23 minutes), Catalina Channel (12 hours 1 minute), Molokai Channel (18 hours 11 minutes), Tsugaru Channel (11 hours 20 minutes) and Cook Strait (11 hours 5 minutes).

This past May, he also completed another 3-day 100 km stage Swim of Peace for the people and children of the Republic of Moldova together with Avram Iancu.

The Ireland-based swimmer is among the following nominees:

1. Benoît Lecomte (France/USA)
2. Cameron Bellamy (South Africa)
3. Diego López Dominguez (Canary Islands)
4. Ferry Weertman (Netherlands)
5. Igor Lukin (Russia)
6. Ion Lazarenco Tiron (Republic of Moldava)
7. John Batchelder (USA)
8. José Luis Larrosa Chorro (Spain)
9. Kristóf Rasovszky (Hungary)
10. Lewis Pugh (Great Britain/South Africa)
11. Maarten van der Weijden (Netherlands)
12. Ned Denison (Ireland/USA)
13. Rohan More (India)
14. Vladimir Mravec (Slovakia/Australia)
15. Yaroslav Pronin (Belarus)

To vote on the last day, register here.

Copyright © 2008-2018 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones