It Is Truly A Global Sport

It Is Truly A Global Sport

The 2012 Global Open Water Swimming Conference will be held in Long Beach, California on September 21 – 23.

Registration just opened and already open water swimming coaches, swimmers, administrators, race directors from Panama, Tunisia, South Africa, Mexico, Japan, Brazil, Argentina, Australia, Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Bangladesh, Croatia, Dominican Republic and Slovenia are already coming.

The following luminaries of the sport will be honored during the conference for their recent induction in the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame:

Larisa Ilchenko (Russia), 2008 Olympic 10K Marathon Swim gold medalist
Maarten van der Weijden (Netherlands), 2008 Olympic 10K Marathon Swim gold medalist and leukemia survivor
Sri Chinmoy (India) posthumously inducted as Honour Administrator
Ned Denison (Ireland), accomplished marathon swimmer and coach
David Parcells (USA), posthumously inducted as Honour Swimmer
Faros Maratón Swim (Croatia) as an Honour Organisation
Irish Long Distance Swimming Association (Ireland) as an Honour Organisation
Marcos Díaz (Dominican Republic), United Nations swimming ambassador
Drury Gallagher (USA), founder of the Manhattan Island Swimming Association
Chad Hundeby (USA), English Channel and Catalina Channel record holder
Eleanor Studley Hurd (USA), first woman to swim the Hellespont between Europe and Asia
Des Renford (Australia), 19-time English Channel swimmer posthumously honored

The following World Open Water Swimming Award recipients will also be honored:

Nejib Belhedi (Tunisia) 2011 World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year
Pilar Geijo (Argentina), 2011 World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year
Jamie Patrick (USA), 2011 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year

Speakers on a wide variety of fascinating topics will include (speaker list is not yet complete with additional luminaries to be confirmed):

Wayne Riddin (South Africa), race director of the Midmar Mile
Mark Perry (UK), head coach of British Swimming
Colin Hill (UK), Technical Director of the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim at the 2012 London Olympics
Diana Nyad (USA), International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame dual inductee
Shelley Taylor-Smith (Australia), 7-time world professional marathon swimming champion
Forrest Nelson (USA), Catalina Channel Swimming Federation president and channel swimmer
Dr. Marcy MacDonald (USA), 12-time English Channel swimmer
Martin Strel (Slovenia), Big River Man
Yutaka Shinozaki (Japan), Founder of Japan International Open Water Swimming Association
Craig Dietz (USA), Limbless Waterman
Erik Van Loon (Netherlands), King of the Rivers race director
• Ivan Torres (Mexico): Cancun Open Water Swimming
Greta Andersen (USA), Olympic Gold Medalist and International Swimming Hall of Fame inductee
Ricardo Ratto (Brazil), FINA open water swimming and Olympic Marathon Swim referee
Dr. Khwaja Aziz (Bangladesh), FINA Technical Open Water Swimming Committee

Copyright © 2012 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones