Jaimie Monahan, Ned Denison Discuss Ice Swimming Hall Of Fame On WOWSA Live

Jaimie Monahan, Ned Denison Discuss Ice Swimming Hall Of Fame On WOWSA Live

Courtesy of KAATSU Global, Huntington Beach, California.

Cold, there is nothing like it in the open water. Cold water is hard to enter, it is hard to endure, it is hard to recover from,” observed Steven Munatones. “Then there is ice swimming – or swimming in 5°C or lower water temperatures. This is in an entirely different realm. Ice swimmers are different people, specially trained, specially prepared, specially hardened with a mindset that is extreme, absolutely off the charts in an incredibly inspirational way.”

Jaimie Monahan and Ned Denison talked about the creation, history and future of the new Ice Swimming Hall of Fame on today’s WOWSA Live episode.

The Ice Swimming Hall of Fame announced its Ice Swimming Hall of Fame Class of 2020, selected by representatives from the world of winter swimming, ice swimming, and open water swimming.

Ned Denison explains, “The objective of the Ice Swimming Hall of Fame is to recognize and honor leading ice and winter swimmers and contributors to the sport of cold water swimming.”

International Ice Swimming Association founder Ram Barkai continues, “The sport of ice swimming is growing quickly with thousands of participants and many mass and solo events in an increasing number of countries. The Ice Swimming Hall of Fame serves as a historic record, identifying and defining heroes and role models for future generations.

The Class of 2020 included Jackie Cobell of Great Britain as an Honor Swimmer, Fergal Somerville of Ireland as an Honor Contributor – Administrator, Kate Steels of Great Britain as an Honor Swimmer, Petar Stoychev of Bulgaria as an Honor Swimmer, Christof Wandratsch of Germany as an Honor Swimmer, the Antarctic Circle Challenge of South Africa as an Honor Event, and the Murmansk Winter Swimming of Russia as an Honor Event.

Eligibility into the Ice Swimming Hall of Fame requires that all swimmers and contributors must have an international body of work over a period of more than 5 years – that may increase in time,” describes Denison. “A few exceptions may occur for a single amazing one-time swim which captures global attention.

For swimmers, it is their record of ice and winter swims (5°C and below) and icy swims (above 5°C) including podium finishes in Ice Kilometer races and winter swimming events from 25m to 450m; Ice Miles, inspirational swims in special locations, first-ever swims, high altitude swims, and under the ice. All must generally be in traditional open water attire (i.e., togs and not wetsuits).

Honor Contributors includes administrators, organizing bodies, officials, members of governing bodies, media, coaches, environmental awareness and events. The individuals involved in events will not receive a vote for future classes and are listed as Participants in an Honor Event of the Ice Swimming Hall of Fame.”

Denison described the initial selection panel that included himself as well as Paolo Chiarino of Italy, Elaine Howley of the USA, Pádraig Mallon of Ireland, Leszek Naziemiec of Poland, Kieron Palframan of South Africa, Shelley Taylor-Smith of Australia, and Jonty Warneken of the UK. Their term as the initial voting committee was for the first two years, during which they were ineligible for individual honors.

All honor swimmers and contributors (except Events) form the voting committee.

The Class of 2020 joined the following swimmers and contributors from the inaugural Class of 2019:

* Honor Swimmer and Honor Contributor – Administrator Ram Barkai of South Africa
* Honor Swimmer Aleksander Brylin of Russia
* Honor Swimmer Henri Kaarma of Estonia
* Honor Swimmer Jaimie Monahan of the USA
* Honor Swimmer Lewis Pugh of Great Britain
* Honor Contributor – Administrator Mariia Yrjö-Koskinen of Finland
* Honor Event Bering Strait Relay with individuals from 23 countries
* Honor Contributor – Media Steven Muñatones of the USA

Nominations can be submitted on the website that Monahan updates and manages. Individuals can be nominated for several categories.

For more information, photos and detailed biographies for all Ice Swimming Hall of Fame honorees and contributors of the Class of 2019 and the Class of 2020, visit www.IceSwimmingHallOfFame.com.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones