Mateusz Sawrymowicz Wins BCT Gdynia Marathon

Mateusz Sawrymowicz Wins BCT Gdynia Marathon

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Mateusz Sawrymowicz of Poland upset world championship medalist Alex Meyer of the USA at the 20.5 km BCT Gdynia Marathon where the water temperature fluctuated between 16.5 and 18.6 along the coastal route.

Sawrymowicz finished in 4 hours 12 minutes across the Gulf of Puck from Hel to Gdynia to Meyer’s 4 hours 16 minutes and third-place Sergey Bolshakov of Russia in 4 hours 19 minutes.

Christine Jennings (USA) won the women’s race for the third time over her lengthy career in 4 hours 30 minutes with Poland’s Monika Czerniak finishing second in 4 hours 57 minutes. The race served as the finale of the Grand Prix of Polish Open Water Swimming (Grand Prix Polski).

Over US$30,000 was distributed in prize money that is sponsored by the Baltic Container Terminal (Bałtycki Terminal Kontenerowy).

There was also a 2.95 km race held at the finish in Gdynia. Filip Zaborowski won in 41:12 over Casper Szczepanski in 44:36 and Michael Macner in 44:37. Joanna Zachoszcz won the women’s race in 46:56. Edmund Pałasz was the oldest competitor at 68 years old while the youngest competitor was 14-year-old Zuzanna Malinowska.

Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association