History Of Marathon Swimming In Australia, Part 1

History Of Marathon Swimming In Australia, Part 1

Courtesy of Christopher Guesdon, Tasmania, Australia.

Christopher Guesdon has compiled old archives and documents covering the history of marathon swimming in Australia. “Swimming Australia had not kept the records, but we are trying to piece together old records before all our memories are gone. Unfortunately, the materials that I gave Swimming Australia that ranged between 1973 and 1981 have been lost and the records between 1982 and 1992 have been misplaced. They are only interested in the pool results.

When the Australian Long Distance Championships were held between 1973 and 1981, the name Open Water had not been thought of then. These championships were conducted over a series of events with points allocated for the place in a swim similar to the World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation system that decided its world champion by points. Why would we do any different?

I was Australian long Distance Swimming champion in 1977 and 1981. The other seven years were shared by Des Renford, Dick Campion, and John Koorey.”

The Australian national champions over the years over various distances are listed below:

Australian Marathon Swimming Championships

Australian Long-Distance Swimming Championships

Australian Open Water Swimming Championships

Copyright © 2008 – 2021 by World Open Water Swimming Association