Lynn Kubasek Embodies The Spirit Of The Sport

Lynn Kubasek Embodies The Spirit Of The Sport

365 days a year, Lynn Kubasek is there for her open water swimming teammates, friends and colleagues.

Evening swims or morning dips, feeds overnight or observer duties, relay swims or solo crossings, Kubasek is always smiling as wide as can be. Especially when she has done something no one else human history has ever done.

This August, the Californian swam from Santa Cruz Island to Anacapa Island, an unprecedented 6-mile crossing that took her 5 hours to complete. “I was ecstatic,” she said of her swim.

But she is ecstatic anytime she is near the shore. Her nomination for the 2013 World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year reads, “There is not a day that goes by without her cheering on or offering to swim with others. Her swimming friends come from all over the world. When not in the water, Lynn Kubasek is creating YouTube clips and online supporting swimmers day in and day out. She willingly and happily jumps on escort boats, prepares drinks, and offers to observe or crew on a moment’s notice or months in advance. Ocean water is seemingly in her blood; she wears lanolin as often than make-up; and marine life are her cherished friends. Always willing to help out, she has a permanent smile on her face in and out of the water. For her deep love of the ocean, for her profound sense of appreciation of the sport, for her overwhelming and all-encompassing sense of voluntarism, Lynn Kubasek is a worthy nominee for the 2013 World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year.

The nominees (listed below) for the World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year are always an heroic and courageous group of individuals with exceptionally inspirational exploits, histories and lifestyles.

The group includes Kubasek who truly embodies the spirit of open water swimming and possesses the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for.

1. Anna-Carin Nordin (Sweden)
2. Charlotte Brynn (New Zealand)
3. Diana Nyad (U.S.A.)
4. Kimberley Chambers (New Zealand)
5. Lorna Cochran (South Africa)
6. Lynn Kubasek (U.S.A.)
7. Martina Grimaldi (Italy)
8. Michelle Macy (U.S.A.)
9. Nadia Ben Bahtane (Morocco)
10. Nuala Moore (Ireland)
11. Olga Kozydub (Russia)
12. Poliana Okimoto (Brazil)
13. Sarah Thomas (U.S.A.)
14. Sally Minty-Gravett (Jersey)
15. Shelley Taylor-Smith (Australia)

Online voting takes place here.

Photos of the 55-year-old water quality specialist is courtesy of Veronica Hibben.

Copyright © 2013 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones