Marine Vessels Above And Below Transatlantic Swimmers

Marine Vessels Above And Below Transatlantic Swimmers

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

On opposite sides of the Atlantic Ocean, stage swimmers British Ben Hooper and American Jennifer Figge are readying for their transoceanic swims to start soon.

As Hooper’s escort boat [see top photo] pulled into Dakar for the Swim The Big Blue, a transatlantic swim from Senegal to Brazil, Figge and her escort captain Tamas Hamor noticed a submarine surface right in front of them before the start of their Bermuda Triangle Swim [see second photo].

Good thing that I wasn’t in water when the submarine surfaced,” wrote Figge who will be swimming five hours a day on her stage swim. “Why swim five hours per day? That is how long the battery of my Shark Shield lasts.”

Meanwhile near the western coast of Africa, Hooper acknowledged the hectic last week on dryland as he completes the final preparations before the start at 10:30 am on November 7th at the Monaco Plage Hotel in Dakar. “I did training over 70+ km and three punishing gym sets with Katie Mumford. [I have] sore shoulders and knee, great physio and massage support, a crew change, and a lot of crew gelling, boat prep and cold/flu symptoms, and seeing my daughter lots and wonderful support from friends, family and followers. Nothing is impossible.”

Figge is among the nominees for the 2016 World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year among the following individuals:

1. Toshio Tominaga (Japan) Tsugaru Channel Crossing
2. Craig Dietz (Jordan-Israel)
3. Sarah Thomas (USA) Lake Powell Crossing
4. Jennifer Figge (USA) Bermuda Triangle Swim
5. Pieter Christian Jongeneel Anderica (Spain) Double Manhattan Circumnavigation
6. Dan Canta (Romania) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
7. Sean Conway (Great Britain) Swim Leg of the World’s Longest Triathlon
8. Hudson Brothers (Great Britain) Into the Maelstrom
9. Cristian Vergara (Chile) Easter Island Circumnavigation
10. Jarrod Poort (Australia) Olympic 10K Marathon Swim
11. Javier Mérida Prieto (Spain) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
12. Patrick McKnight (USA) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
13. Spyridon Gianniotis (Greece) Olympic 10K Marathon Swim
14. Malvinas/Falklands Islands Challenge by Matías Ola (Argentina) and Jackie Cobell (Great Britain)
15. Stephanie Hopson (USA) English Channel Crossing
16. Carol Schumacher Hayden (USA) Catalina Channel Crossing
17. Vasilly Mosin (Russia) Winter Swimming

To vote for the WOWSA Awards, visit here. Online voting continues until December 31st 2016.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones