Mark Perry Bringing Out the BEST at the Fest

Mark Perry Bringing Out the BEST at the Fest

Mark Perry knows how to travel and coach, that is for sure. The former British elite swimmer, now coach of Team Canada, is taking the top Canadian open water swimmer to the annual BEST Fest in Colonia Sant Jordi, Mallorca, Spain being held on May 28th to June 3rd. He says, “It is a fantastic learning opportunity for a great group of young swimmers.”

Perry formerly engineered the emergence of the British national open water swim team that culminated in 3 Olympic podium finishes at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games by Keri-Anne Payne, Cassandra Patten, and David Davies.

The BEST Fest area is famous for its beaches that lie either side of the town and the island of Cabrera, Spain’s first protected nature marine park, a few kilometers away.

The BEST Fest events include:

  • 5 km Colonia Classic 1 on May 29th
  • 220 Triathlon Corberana at 1.9 km and 3.8 km on May 30th
  • 1.5 km Colonia Classic 2 on May 31st
  • 2.5 km Tell Me Your Time on May 31st
  • 3 km Es Carbo Italian Volcano on June 1st
  • 7 km and 10 km Colonia Classic 3 on June 2nd
  • 4x500m Freshwater Relays on June 3rd
  • 7.5 km BEST Fest SwimRun (coming in 2023)

This year, the special guests include those who offer offer technique advice and structured training:

Alex Studzinski, a highly decorated German professional marathon swimmer who has raced in Hawaii, Windermere, Rio de Janeiro and all the FINA Grand Prix events and German national championship.

Beatrix Studzinski (née Beatrix Eisel) is a German swimmer with multiple individual and relay team national titles and records to her credit. She has also won the Great Scottish Swim and the Henley Swim in the UK, the Waikiki Roughwater Swim in Hawaii, and the BEST Fest in Mallorca.

Paul Newsome of Swim Smooth is an English Channel swimmer (2011) and won the 2013 Manhattan Island Marathon Swim.

Mel Berry, co-Founder of Her Spirit, continues to help many people transform their lives in and out of the water.

For more information, visit here.

Copyright © 2008 – 2022 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones