Martina Grimaldi Wins World Cup In Mexico

Martina Grimaldi Wins World Cup In Mexico

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

In a breakaway lead pack of 11 competitive women familiar with one another, it was only Italy’s Martina Grimaldi who could hold off the Brazilian onslaught of Poliana Okimoto and Ana Marcela Cunha.

In a race that had 6 red flags called for disqualifications on a tight course of 1.25 km with 5 turn buoys, it was another tough race.

But as usually it was a very tight race involving the two leading Brazilian women, Poliana Okimoto and Ana Marcela Cunha. While the Brazilian duo finished second and third, the Italians led by Grimaldi and Rachele Bruni went first and fourth.

The results of today’s FINA 10 km Marathon Swimming World Cup in Playa del Carmen, Mexico:

1. Martina Grimaldi (ITA) 2:12:37
2. Poliana Okimoto (BRA) 2:12:38
3. Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA) 2:12:39
4. Rachele Bruni (ITA) 2:12:40
5. Christine Jennings (USA) 2:12:41
6. Finnia Wunram (GER) 2:12:42
7. Isabelle Harle (GER) 2:12:43
8. Anna Olasz (HUN) 2:12:44
9. Alice Franco (ITA) 2:12:45
10. Eva Fabian (USA) 2:12:51
11. Cabezas Margarita Dominguez (ESP) 2:12:55
12. Silvie Rybárová (CZE) 2:13:13
13. Haley Anderson (USA) 2:13:58
14. Tristin Baxter (USA) 2:14:59
15. Svenja Zihsler (GER) 2:16:11
16. Swann Oberson (SUI) 2:16:12
17. Xeniya Romanchuk (KAZ) 2:16:15
18. Patricia Lucia Wartenberg (GER) 2:16:19
19. Lizeth Rueda (MEX) 2:16:29
20. Nataly Caldas Calle (ECU) 2:16:52
21. Melissa Villasenor Reyes (MEX) 2:16:53
22. Montserrat Ortuno Clapera (MEX) 2:18:17
23. Melinda Novoszath (HUN) 2:22:34
24. Olga Beresnyeva (UKR) 2:22:36
25. Jaana Ehmcke (GER) 2:22:38
26. Ines Hahn (GER) 2:22:45
27. Andrea Salas Luna (MEX) 2:27:56
28. Samantha Arevalo (ECU) DQ
29. Sarah Bosslet (GER) DQ
30. Zaira Edith Cardenas (MEX) DQ
28. Lena Kirchner (GER) DQ
29. Fabiana Lamberti (ITA) DQ
30. Angela Maurer (GER) DQ
31. Andrea Perez Aguilera Barragan (MEX) DNF

With so many disqualifications, tight turns, and close finishes, physicality is a topic that will be discussed here at the Daily News of Open Water Swimming this coming week.

Copyright © 2014 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones