Matías Ola On Cold Water Swimming Preparations

Matías Ola On Cold Water Swimming Preparations

Article about Matías Ola courtesy of Tom Morgenstern of Revista Open Swim.

Matías Ola talks about the physical and nutritional preparations for cold water swims in Revista Open Water (see Fisiología y nutrición para nadadores de aguas frías by here by nutritionist Jordi Sarola).

Ola and his tandem swim partner Jackie Cobell performed a bit of delicate Speedo diplomacy when they completed a swim of peace and friendship between West Falkland and East Falkland in Argentina’s Islas Malvinas (Falkland Islands). As part of Ola’s Unir el Mundo project, they pull off a successful crossing of the Strait of San Carlos in 2 hours 37 minutes in 6ºC water between the two main islands of the Falkland Islands.

Their Malvinas/Falklands Islands Challenge was nominated for the 2016 World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year among these other swimmers:

1. Toshio Tominaga (Japan) Tsugaru Channel Crossing
2. Craig Dietz (USA) Kingdom Swim 10K
3. Sarah Thomas (USA) Lake Powell Crossing
4. Jennifer Figge (USA) Bermuda Triangle Swim
5. Pieter Christian Jongeneel Anderica (Spain) Double Manhattan Circumnavigation
6. Dan Canta (Romania) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
7. Sean Conway (Great Britain) Swim Leg of the World’s Longest Triathlon
8. Hudson Brothers (Great Britain) Into the Maelstrom
9. Cristian Vergara (Chile) Easter Island Circumnavigation
10. Jarrod Poort (Australia) Olympic 10K Marathon Swim
11. Javier Mérida Prieto (Spain) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
12. Patrick McKnight (USA) Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming
13. Spyridon Gianniotis (Greece) Olympic 10K Marathon Swim
14. Malvinas/Falklands Islands Challenge by Matías Ola (Argentina) and Jackie Cobell (Great Britain)
15. Stephanie Hopson (USA) English Channel Crossing
16. Carol Schumacher Hayden (USA) Catalina Channel Crossing
17. Vasilly Mosin (Russia) Winter Swimming

To vote in the four categories of the WOWSA Awards, visit here.

Voting continues until December 31st 2016.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones