Oceane Cassignol, Ana Marcela Cunha Tie for 2021 FINA/CNSG Marathon Swim World Series Title

Oceane Cassignol, Ana Marcela Cunha Tie for 2021 FINA/CNSG Marathon Swim World Series Title

2020 Tokyo Olympic marathon swimming gold medalist Ana Marcela Cunha and 21-year-old Frenchwoman Oceane Cassignol [shown above] tied for the 2021 FINA/CNSG Marathon Swim World Series title. The season rankings were announced at the FINA/CNSG Marathon Swim World Series Grand Finale held in Yas Bay, Abu Dhabi, UAE where Cunha finished second and Cassignol finished sixth on the FINA professional marathon swimming circuit.

2021 FINA/CNSG Marathon Swim World Series Final Rankings:

1st tie: Oceane Cassignol (France, 21) and Ana Marcela Cunha (Brazil,29) – 2,300 points

3rd: Giulia Gabbrielleschi (Italy, 25) – 2,050 points

4th: Anna Olasz (Hungary, 28) – 1,498 points

5th: Leonie Beck (Germany, 24) – 1,300 points

6th: Caroline Laure Jouisse (France) 1,194 points

7th: Lea Boy (Germany) 1,000 points

8th: Barbara Pozzobon (Italy) 950 points

9th: Jeannette Spiwoks (Germany) 800 points

10th: Lara Grangeon de Villele (France) 680 points

11th: Sharon van Rouwendaal (Netherlands) 600 points

12th: Serena Stel (Netherlands) 550 points

13th: Rachele Bruni (Italy) 500 points

14th: Sofie Callo (Italy) 500 points

15th: Reka Rohacs (Hungary) 460 points

16th: Arianna Bridi (Italy) 450 points

17th: Lisa Pou (France) 420 points

18th: Samantha Arevalo (Ecuador) 400 points

18th: Eva Fabian (Israel) 400 points

20th: Orian Gablan (Israel) 350 points

20th: Ginevra Taddeucci (Italy) 350 points

20th: Burcunaz Narin (Turkey) 350 points

23rd: Angelica Andre (Portugal) 320 points

24th: Alice Dearing (Great Britain) 300 points

24th: Guy Shlegel (Israel) 300 points

24th: Tuna Erdogan (Turkey) 300 points

27th: Madelon Catteau (France) 286 points

28th: Sophia Irem Iskenderoglu (Turkey) 250 points

29th: Maria de Valdes (Spain) 200 points

29th: Mafalda Rosa (Portugal) 200 points

29th: Sevim Eylul Supurgeci (Turkey) 200 points

32nd: Marie Kuntzmann (France) 196 points

33rd: Maria Bramont-Arias (Peru) 194 points

34th: Ece Yildirim (Turkey) 190 points

34th: Mariah Denigan (USA) 190 points

36th: Luca Vas (Hungary) 182 points

36th: Krystyna Panchishko (Urkaine) 182 points

38th: Paula Ruiz Bravo (Spain) 180 points

38th: Merve Erdemir (Turkey) 180 points

40th: Onon Katalin Somenek (Hungary) 170 points

40th: Ilgin Celik (Turkey) 170 points

42nd: Mira Szimcsak (Hungary) 160 points

42nd: Aleyna Nur Sungur (Turkey) 160 points

44th: Silvia Ciccarella (Italy) 150 points

44th: Doga Babacan (Turkey) 150 points

46th: Mariya Fedotova (Kazakhstan) 146 points

47th: Isabella Sinisi (Italy) 140 points

48th: Milana Boldyreva (Kazakhstan) 138 points

49th: Elea Linka (Germany) 130 points

50th: Vivien Balogh (Hungary) 120 points

51st: Alisia Tettamanzi (Italy) 106 points

52nd Alena Benesova (Czech Republic) 104 points

53rd: Viviane Jungblut (Brazil) 102 points

53rd: Spela Perse (Slovakia) 102 points

55th: Aurelie Muller (France) 100 points

55th: Katie Grimes (USA) 100 points

57th: Adeline Furst (France) 96 points

58th: Danielle Huskisson (Great Britain) 92 points

58th: Sarah Kohler (Germany) 92 points

60th: Xiaoming Ma (China) 90 points

60th: Eleonora Brotto (Italy) 90 points

62nd: Yana Kurtseva (Russia) 88 points

63rd: Kenna Delaney Godfrey Smallegange (Canada) 86 points

64th: Romina Soledad Imwinkelried (Argentina) 84 points

64th: Lean Cabon (France) 84 points

66th: Kincso Gal (Hungary) 82 points

67th: Lenka Sterbova (Czech Republic) 80 points

68th: Brooke Travis (USA) 78 points

69th: Xeniya Romanchuk (Kazakhstan) 76 points

70th: Mathilde Herlem (France) 74 points

71st: Holly Hibbott (Great Britain) 70 points

72nd: Mahina Nicole Valdivia Dannenberg (Chile) 68 points

73rd: Diana Taszhanova (Kazakhstan) 66 points

74th: Mariia Bondarenko (Ukraine) 62 points

75th: Irina Arkhipova (Kazakhstan) 60 points

The FINA Marathon Swim World Series included four 10 km races in Doha, Qatar on March 13th, Lake Ohrid in North Macedonia on August 28th, Eilat, Israel on December 12th, and Abu Dhabi, UAE on December 16th.

The remaining 10 km races in Seychelles on May 9th, Budapest on June 12th, Setúbal, Portugal on June 19th, lac St-Jean, Canada on July 25th, and lac Mégantic, Canada on August 7th were all cancelled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Cunha said after the race in Yas Bay, “I wanted to win today to ensure that I would be the FINA World Series leader, but the calculations are complicated. I honestly don’t know if I am the winner or perhaps I am tied for first in the World Series results for the season.”

Cassignol acknowledged the Grand Finale was a tough swim, “Now get for some rest before [the] 2022 [season].”

The prize money is given to the top 10 finishers based on the season-ending rankings as follows:

  1. US$50,000
  2. US$35,000
  3. US$25,000
  4. US$20,000
  5. US$15,000
  6. US$12,000
  7. US$8,000
  8. US$5,000
  9. US$3,500
  10. US$1,500

Copyright © 2008 – 2021 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones