Olympic Dreams To Be Made In Setúbal Bay - The Women

Olympic Dreams To Be Made In Setúbal Bay – The Women

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

With the coronavirus pandemic continuing to cause problems in Japan, the second and final FINA Olympic Marathon Swim Qualifier was shifted from Fukuoka, Japan to Parque Urbano de Albarquel in Setúbal Bay, Portugal on June 19th (women) and 20th (men).

The first 10 swimmers qualified for the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim at the 2019 FINA World Championships. The remaining 15 swimmers will qualify in Setúbal Bay to capture one of the 15 remaining spots to compete in Odaiba Marine Park in Tokyo Bay at the upcoming Olympics. The rules of qualification are as follows:

  • The first 9 finishers will qualify. Only countries that are not represented by athletes who qualified at the 2019 FINA World Championships 2019 can send a maximum of two swimmers per gender. 
  • Each country can qualify only one athlete per gender.
  • In regards to the five continental spots, the highest placed athletes who have not yet qualified from each of the five continents (Europe, Americas, Oceania, Africa, Asia) will qualify.
  • If a country has previously qualified one or two swimmers, the next highest ranked swimmer from the same continent, who is not yet qualified, in the 2021 FINA Olympic Marathon Swim Qualifier will qualify to ensure that each of these competitions yields a competitor.
  • Japan will automatically qualify one man and one woman.

There will be 46 swimmers from 30 countries in a very competitive women’s race. The top athletes include Cecilia Biagioli, a 2000, 2004, 2008 and 2012 Olympian from Argentina, Stephanie Horner, a 2016 Olympian from Canada, Samantha Arévalo, a 2016 Olympian from Ecuador, Anna Olasz, a 2016 Olympian from Hungary, Eva Fabian, a two-time world championship medalist from Israel (who previously represented the USA), Yumi Kida, a 2012 and 2016 Olympian from Japan, Michelle Weber, a 2016 Olympian from South Africa, Spela Perse, a 2016 Olympian from Sloveniaand Paola Perez, a 2016 Olympian from Venezuela.

15 swimmers will qualify at the 2021 FINA Olympic Marathon Swim Qualifier will be held on June 19th and will secure one of these final spots among these swimmers:

  1. Majda Chebaraka, Algeria
  2. Souad Nefissa Cherouati, Algeria
  3. Cecilia Biagioli, Argentina [shown above]
  4. Romina Soledad Inwinkelried, Argentina
  5. Johanna Enkner, Austria
  6. Stephanie Horner, Canada
  7. Kate Farley Sanderson, Canada
  8. Mahina Nicole Valdivia Dannenberg, Chile
  9. Catarina Ferreira, Cape Verde
  10. Alena Benesova, Czech Republic
  11. Lenka Sterbova, Czech Republic
  12. Samantha Arévalo, Ecuador
  13. Maria de Valdes, Spain
  14. Paula Ruiz Bravo, Spain
  15. Merle Liivand, Estonia
  16. Alice Dearing, Great Britain
  17. Danielle Huskisson, Great Britain
  18. Pac Tung Nikita Lam, Hong Kong
  19. Tsz Yin Nip, Hong Kong
  20. Anna Olasz, Hungary
  21. Reka Rohacs, Hungary
  22. Eva Fabian, Israel
  23. Yumi Kida, Japan
  24. Minami Niikura, Japan
  25. Milana Boldyreva, Kazakhstan
  26. Mariya Fedotova, Kazakhstan
  27. Haeun Jung, Korea [withdrawn]
  28. Jungju Park, Korea [withdrawn]
  29. Maria Jose Mata Cocco, Mexico
  30. Martha Sandoval, Mexico
  31. Maria Bramont-Arias, Peru
  32. Klaudia Tarasiewicz, Poland
  33. Angelica Andre, Portugal
  34. Stephanie Houtman, South Africa
  35. Michelle Weber, South Africa
  36. Anastasiia Kirpichnikova, Russia
  37. Ekaterina Sorokina, Russia
  38. Sofie Frichot, Seychelles
  39. Li-Shan Chantal Liew, Singapore
  40. Spela Perse, Slovenia
  41. Pimpun Choopong, Thailand
  42. Katawan Teeka, Thailand
  43. Yi-Chen Wang, Chinese Taipei
  44. Krystyna Panchishko, Ukraine
  45. Lilian Hernandez, Venezuela
  46. Paola Perez, Venezuela

The 15 qualifying swimmers from Setúbal Bay will join the following 10 finalists in Tokyo Bay on August 4th (shown below with their qualification time and place):

1. Xin Xin (China) 1:54:47.20
2. Haley Anderson (USA) 1:54:48.10
3. Rachele Bruni (Italy) 1:54:49.90
4. Lara Grangeon (France) 1:54:50.00
5. Ana Marcela Cunha (Brazil) 1:54:50.50
6. Ashley Twichell (USA) 1:54:50.50
7. Kareena Lee (Australia) 1:54:50.50
8. Finnia Wunram (Germany) 1:54:50.70
9. Leonie Beck (Germany) 1:54:51.00
10. Sharon van Rouwendaal (Netherlands) 1:54:51.10

Copyright © 2008 – 2021 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones