Open Water Swimming Grand Prix Returns To Rosario

Open Water Swimming Grand Prix Returns To Rosario

The first race on the 2011 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit will kick off in Rosario, Argentina at the Maratón Acuático Internacional Ciudad de Rosario. With races between 15K and 88K where men and women start together, the series is the most formidable marathon swimming circuit in the world.

22 men and 16 men including many of the world’s fastest and most durable marathon swimmers will start the 11-race circuit in Rosario this Sunday.

The top men include legend Petar Stoychev of Bulgaria, recently wed Damian Blaum of Argentina, Rodolfo Valenti of Italy, King of the Sea victor Alexander Studzinski of Germany, Andrea Volpini of Italy, Evgenij Pop Acev of Macedonia, Mattia Alberico of Italy and Guillermo Bertola of Argentina.

On the women’s side, defending Grand Prix champion Pilar Geijo of Argentina, recently-wed Esther Nunez of Spain, Nicoletta Simonazzi from Italy and Argentinians Antonella Bogarin, Marianella Mendoza, Noelia Petti and Vanessa Garcia will battle for the cash prizes.

The 2011 FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix calendar includes the following races:

January 23rd in Rosario, Argentina (15K)
January 30th in Santa Fe-Coronda, Argentina (57K)
February 5th in Viedma, Argentina (12K)
February 13th in Hernandarias-Parana, Argentina (88K)
April 23rd in Sumidero Canyon, Mexico (15K)
June 19th in Capri-Napoli, Italy (36K)
July 30th in Lac St-Jean, Canada (32K)
August 6th in Lac Memphremagog, Canada (34K)
August 7th in Sabac, Serbia (19K)
August 14th in Ohrid Lake, Macedonia (30K)
Final race in the United Arab Emirates to be decided

Copyright © 2011 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones