Penny Dean Pens Open Water Swimming Memoirs

Penny Dean Pens Open Water Swimming Memoirs

Penny Lee Dean, the long-time record holder of the English Channel (7 hours 40 minutes from England to France in 1978) and the Catalina Channel (7 hours 15 from California to Catalina Island in 1976), launched her fourth open water swimming book on Amazon yesterday.

Her 196-page softback entitled “Just Try One More” is a page-turner for all those interested in open water swimming and learning how a tiny, young girl from California became one of history’s greatest channel swimmers.

I am very happy about the book,” explains the first USA Swimming national open water swim team coach who founded the Catalina Channel Swimming Federation. “It tells the story about my life of swimming and the relationships that I had with my mother and all my coaches including Siga [Rose]. It was a fun project to work on“.

The book describes Dean’s training and development to accomplish something no one had ever done before or has accomplished since: simultaneously hold the English Channel and Catalina Channel records.

Penny was my open water swimming coach in 1982,” says Steven Munatones. “She was an icon back then and her workouts were legendary like her 36,000 meters long course meter workouts where she maintained faster than a 1:20 pace per 100m. She was just as relentless as a coach – in an inspirational way. She made you believe in yourself and helped you realize the deep potential that everyone has. She never yelled; she just made you want to achieve what she expected of you. And you always knew that whatever workouts she asked of you, she had actually done herself…and more.”

Just Try One More is a great read from one of the icon’s of the global open water swimming world who has given much to the sport as an athlete, coach, author and administrator.

To order Just Try One More, visit here.

Just Try One More is Dean’s fourth book following Open Water Swimming: A Complete Guide for Distance Swimmers and Triathletes (1998), How To Swim A Marathon (1985) and History of Catalina Swims (1980).

Copyright © 2013 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones