Pilar Geijo Wins 4th Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean

Pilar Geijo Wins 4th Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Pilar Geijo of Argentina won her fourth title at the 61st Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean in a fairly comfortable margin over rivals Esther Nuñez Morera of Spain and Dina Levačič of Croatia.

The veteran of the professional marathon swimming circuit, Geijo has participated in seven races in the famed lake in Quebec, Canada, the richest stop on the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix circuit.

With the field thinned out due to the 2015 FINA World Championships, all eyes were on the Argentine. Expectations were high, she did not disappoint in the cold and rough conditions.

One by one swimmers pulled out in turbulence and wind where the number of non-finishers (11) nearly equaled the number of finishers (12).

Overall results of the 61st Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean:
1 Xavier Desharnais (CAN) 7:20:41
2 Philippe Guertin (CAN) 7:21:59
3 Bertrand Venturi (FRA) 7:23:27
4 Hugo Ribeiro (POR) 7:29:35
5 Pilar Geijo (ARG) 7:48:17 (first woman)
6 Evgenij Pop Acev (MKD) 7:56:22
7 Esther Nuñez Morera (ESP) 8:02:17 (second woman)
8 Dina Levačič (CRO) 8:05:24 (third woman)
9 Rita Vanesa Garcia (ARG) 8:46:42
10 Victoria Mori (ARG) 9:03:41
11 Tiago Sato (BRA) 9:12:03
12 Elena Lionello (ITA) 9:16:48
DNF Matheus Evangelista (BRA)
DNF Tomi Stefanovski (MKD)
DNF Damian Blaum (ARG)
DNF Simon Pistor (GER)
DNF Samir Barel (BRA)
DNF Anna Mankevich (RUS)
DNF Aleksandar Illievski (MKD)
DNF Sabryna Lavoie (CAN)
DNF Aquiles Balaudo (ARG)
DNF Gabriel Pouliot (CAN)
DNF Fernando Ciaramella (ARG)
DNS Vicenia Navarro (VEN)

Traversée du Lac-St-Jean 2015 – FINA open water grand prix – Esther Nuñez Morera from Leandre Lapointe on Vimeo. Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association