Pioneers Honoured At The Hall Of Fame Ceremonies

Pioneers Honoured At The Hall Of Fame Ceremonies

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Pioneers who were honored at the 2014 International Swimming Hall of Fame induction ceremonies held on the Isle of Bute in Scotland included George Young (represented by Catalina Channel Swimming Federation president Forrest Nelson), Mercedes Gleitze (represented by daughter Doloranda Pember), Dale Petranech, David Yudovin and Claudio Plit (represented by Shelley Taylor-Smith.

Their acceptance speeches were inspirational and profoundly rich where each person (or their representatives) expressed their heartfelt appreciation for those around them who supported them in a variety of ways.

Yudovin was a perfect example. He was surrounded by his family and friends, each of who played a critical role in his success. He acknowledged his wife who served as his support crew in far-away places, his father who supported his dreams, his brother who stepped in to enable him to travel, and his co-workers who kept his businesses thriving as he did over 15 pioneering swims from Asia to Africa.

Photo courtesy of Ram Barkai.

Copyright © 2014 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones