Practicing The Mellouli Double In Tokyo

Practicing The Mellouli Double In Tokyo

Courtesy of Pan Pacific Championships, Tokyo, Japan.

The 2018 Pan Pacific Championships will be held at Tokyo, Japan between August 9th and 13th. The 10 km marathon swim will be held on August 13th in Odaiba Marine Park, the same location for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic 10K Marathon Swim.

The men will start the 8-loop 1.25 km course at 7:30 am with the women starting 2 minutes later.

It is interesting to note that the men’s 1500m freestyle and women’s 800m final is scheduled for August 9th, four days before the 10 km race,” observed Steven Munatones. “This is a great and unique opportunity for crossover swimmers like Jordan Wilimovsky to get experience ‘doubling up’ at Pan Pacs – racing in both the 1500m and the 10 km over a short period against world-class competition – before they might want to try the ‘Mellouli Double‘ again at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

It will also be interesting how many of the elite world-class marathon swimmers outside of the Pacific Rim nations will elect to compete in this 10 km race in Odaiba Marine Park.

For more information about the event, visit

Mellouli Double Swimmers In Olympic History:
* 2008 Beijing Olympics: David Davies (Great Britain)
* 2008 Beijing Olympics: Petar Stoychev (Bulgaria)
* 2008 Beijing Olympics: Spyridon Gianniotis (Greece)
* 2008 Beijing Olympics: Keri-Anne Payne (Great Britain)
* 2008 Beijing Olympics: Cassandra Patten (Great Britain)
* 2008 Beijing Olympics: Andreína del Valle Pinto Pérez (Venezuela)
* 2008 Beijing Olympics + Paralympics: Natalie du Toit (South Africa)
* 2008 Beijing Olympics: Kristel Köbrich (Chile)
* 2012 London Olympics: Éva Risztov (Hungary)
* 2012 London Olympics: Erika Villaécija García (Spain)
* 2012 London Olympics: Cecilia Biagioli (Argentina)
* 2012 London Olympics: Oussama Mellouli (Tunisia, shown above)
* 2012 London Olympics: Daniel Fogg (Great Britain)
* 2016 Rio Olympics: Jordan Wilimovsky (USA)
* 2016 Rio Olympics: Sharon van Rouwendaal (Netherlands)
* 2016 Rio Olympics: Éva Risztov (Hungary)
* 2016 Rio Olympics: Oussama Mellouli (Tunisia)

Copyright © 2008-2018 by World Open Water Swimming Association
Steven Munatones