Ask Ger Anything – Webinar with Ger Kennedy

$75.00

Live Q&A

Learn how to swim through winter without a wetsuit
Learn how to safely and gradually acclimate
How to prepare mentally for the cold water
How to create a cold water training plan
The best recovery & rewarming process

Includes 5 Training Plans!

  1. Progressing from an Open Water Swimmer to Ice Swimmer
  2. 1 km ice swim in sub 3°C
  3. 1 km ice swim in 0°C – 1°C
  4.  Ice Kilometer to an Ice Mile
  5. Ice Mile to an Ice Mile Zero

EARLY BIRD SPECIAL (until November 28, 2022) : Use coupon code ICE25OFF to get $25 off

Category:

Description

Webinar

Ask Ger Anything

Ice Swim Acclimation and Q&A

Webinar Includes

Live Q&A

Learn how to swim through winter without a wetsuit
Learn how to safely and gradually acclimate
How to prepare mentally for the cold water
How to create a cold water training plan
The best recovery & rewarming process

Includes 5 Training Plans!

Progressing from an Open Water Swimmer to Ice Swimmer
1 km ice swim in sub 3°C
1 km ice swim in 0°C – 1°C
Ice Kilometer to an Ice Mile
Ice Mile to an Ice Mile Zero

December 7, 2022 @7 PM UK

Time Zones

London, United Kingdom Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 19:00 GMT
Prague, Czechia Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 20:00 CET
Paris, France Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 20:00 CET
Amsterdam, Netherlands Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 20:00 CET
Cape Town, South Africa Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 21:00 SAST
Mexico City, Mexico Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 13:00 CST
New York, USA Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 14:00 EST
Los Angeles, USA Wed, 7 Dec 2022 at 11:00 PST
Melbourne, Australia Thu, 8 Dec 2022 at 06:00 AEDT

Ger Kennedy is a first-hand expert and ice swimmer who has learned to how handle the acute stress response and severe physiological reactions that occur in response to the frigid conditions (i.e., sub-5°C water). He has fine-tuned his re-warming recovery process and the requisite protocols that are taken to avoid serious injury or death of his most extreme swims.

He explains, “Before the winter starts well in Northern Hemisphere, I have written a few training plans for potential ice swimmers to achieve their goals.”

Kennedy also has written training programs for completing a 1 km ice swim in sub-3°C water, a 1 km ice swim in 0°C – 1°C water, to progress from an Ice Kilometer to an Ice Mile to an Ice Mile Zero.

In addition to Kennedy’s Extreme Ice Mile 2 km, 10 Ice Miles, 6 Ice Kilometers done since 2013 across Europe, North America, the Polar regions, Africa and Asia, he has done a Polar Ice Mile and two Ice Mile Zero and participated in the Tyumen Cup in Siberia, the Winter Swimming World Championships, the 1st World Ice Swimming Championships in Russia, the 2nd World Ice Swimming Championships in Germany, an Ice Kilometer in Lake Balea, Romania at an altitude of 2,040 meters and a number of other events from the UK to Latvia and Poland.

Official Ice Miles by Ger Kennedy:
1st: February 2013 in Lough Dan, Co. Wicklow, Ireland in 3.3°C water, 1 mile in 40 minutes
2nd: February 2014 in Lough Dan, Co. Wicklow, Ireland in 3.3°C water, 1.02 miles in 37 minutes 5 seconds
3rd: March 2014 in Lough Dan, Co. Wicklow, Ireland in 3.3°C water, 1.3 miles in 51 minutes 10 seconds
4th: February 2015 in Grand Canal Dock, Dublin City, Ireland in 4.8°C water, 1 mile in 36 minutes 15 seconds
5th: January 2016 in Wild Water Armagh, Ireland in 0.77°C water, 1 mile in 32 minutes 30 seconds
6th: March 2017 in Mikkelvik Brygge, Norway in 2.53°C water, 1.0 mile in 34 minutes 5 seconds
7th: December 2017 in Tyumen, Siberia, Russia in 0.5°C water (with -18.80°C wind chill), 1.25 miles in 43 minutes 10 seconds
8th: January 2018 in Lake Ouiouane, Khenifra, Morocco in 3.77°C water, 1.04 miles in 37 minutes 10 seconds at 1630 meters above sea level
9th: February 2018 in M Street Beach, Boston, USA in 4.77°C water, 1 mile in 32 minutes 15 seconds
10th: March 2018 in Dublin, Ireland in 4.7°C water, 1.1 miles in 34 minutes 13 seconds

Ger Kennedy grew up in Dublin, played rugby and competed in triathlons. Following an injury to his knees and hips he was advised to try sea swimming in cold water. What started as a pain relief became a new found love for long distance swimming and ice swimming.