The Pros Are Going All Out In Cancún, Mexico

Cloudless skies will greet the professional marathon swimmer later this morning at the FINA 10KM Marathon Swimming World Cup in Cancún, Mexico.

With flags set, security standing guard and the gorgeous waters of the Caribbean Sea waiting for the world champions, Olympic medalists, World Cup champions and Grand Prix champions, it should be a great race.

The men’s start list includes Yuri Kudinov (Kazakhztan), Zachary Parkes, Richard Weinberger, Simon Tobin (Canada), Valerio Cleri (Italy), Gercsak Csaba (Hungary), Sergiy Fesenko (Azerbaijan), Petar Stoychev (Bulgaria), Joseph Kleindl, Thomas Lurz, Christian Reichert, Andreas Waschburger (Germany), Alex Meyer, Mark Warkentin (USA), Ivan Lopez, Alan Rojas, Manuel Chiu, Luis Escobar (Mexico) and Michael Dmitrier (Israel).

The women’s start list includes Poliana Okimoto (Brazil), Eva Risztov (Hungary), Cindy Carolina Toscano Merida (Guatemala), Swann Oberson (Switzerland), Inha Kotsur (Azerbaijan), Isabell Donath, Nadine Reichert, Antje Mahn, Angela Maurer, Lena Stiefvatter (Germany), Teja Zupan (Slovenia), Haley Anderson, Christine Jennings (USA), Alejandra Gonzalez, Zaira Cardenas (Mexico).

Follow the race here.

Head referee Jose Borrego of Mexico talks a little bit about his role and responsibilities in officiating the elite athletes on the World Cup and world championship level:

Copyright © 2011 by Open Water Source
Steven Munatones