RCP Tiburon Mile Attracts An Elite Field

RCP Tiburon Mile Attracts An Elite Field

Photo of Ferry Weertman (silver), Jordan Wilimovsky (USA) and Spyridon Gianniotis (Greece) by Giorgio Scala of Deepbluemedia. Article courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Jordan Wilimovsky manhandled the world’s best at the FINA World Swimming Championships in Kazan, Russia, but this weekend, he will enter another highly competitive race where there are no guarantees.

The laid-back hipster is headlining the annual RCP Tiburon Mile in San Francisco where the unexpected is always expected.

Race director Bob Placak always hosts a top-notch field of elite athletes and 2015 will be no different. Besides the University of California Berkeley and Mission Viejo swims teams, the elite women’s and men’s field includes the following:

*Keri-Anne Payne, 2008 Olympic silver medalist
*Ashley Twichell, 2011 world championship medalist
*Christine Jennings, multiple FINA World Cup winner
*Becca Mann, multiple USA national champion
*Stephanie Peacock, 2015 World University Games medalist and NCAA record holder
*Dan O’Connor, USA national championship medalist
*Michael Sheil, leading Australian open water swimmer
*Alex Meyer, 2009 world champion
*Eric Nilsson, multiple USMS national champion
*Chip Peterson, 2005 world champion
*David Carry, 2-time British Olympian
*Jordan Wilimovsky, 2015 world champion

Copyright © 2015 by World Open Water Swimming Association