RCP Tiburon Mile Postponed Until 2022

RCP Tiburon Mile Postponed Until 2022

Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Not unsurprisingly, most channel swims, competitive open water swims and charity events in the State of California were cancelled in 2020 – and it looks most likely that the cancellation of open water swims and events will continue throughout 2021.

Tokyo – the most populous metropolitan area in the world with 37.39 million residents – is forging ahead with inviting over 12,000+ Olympic athletes and 4,300+ Paralympians as well as many more officials and referees to the Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics in July, August, and September. In contrast, it looks tough for those who wish to venture beyond the California shorelines to compete in open water swims throughout 2021.

One of the long-running events that will postpone its event in 2021 is RCP Tiburon Mile, held annually in San Francisco Bay. The start of the event on Angel Island is shown above; the photo was taken by Elliot Karlan. The photo below shows race director Bob Placak with his son Robert who won the 2018 Mayors Cup for being the fastest local Tiburon swimmer at the RCP Tiburon Mile.

Bob Placak with his young son Robert who won the 2018 Mayors Cup for being the fastest local Tiburon swimmer at the RCP Tiburon Mile

Placak explains his reasoning, “In light of continued global health concerns regarding COVID-19 and guidance from local, state and federal authorities, it is with heavy hearts that we have made the decision to postpone the 2021 RCP Tiburon Mile event, scheduled for October 10th 2021. The health and safety of our participants, spectators, and staff remain our top priorities, and as such we could not in good faith move forward with this year’s event.

We hope that you are staying safe and healthy during these challenging times. I’m sure that everyone would agree to the fundamental principles of protecting the health of participants, following local laws, and minimizing the risk of transmission of the virus.

It is difficult to plan for our event with the continued International uncertainty as many of our swimmers that participate are from out of the United States.  This continues to be a fluid and dynamic process that could change with little or no notice, greatly impacting the event from occurring.  All of these variables  make it impossible to predict and deliver the quality event that we  are known for, and that you have come to expect.

Our plan is to continue the event’s tradition in September or October 2022. We encourage you to participate in our next RCP Tiburon Mile and will keep you apprised of the next date. We will keep you posted on the new date and you can look for updates on our website at www.rcptiburonmile.com.

We wish everyone safety and health during this challenging time and that you keep on swimming.  We look forward to the day when we can compete again and look forward to seeing you at the next RCP Tiburon Mile open water swim.”

“The RCP Tiburon Mile has had so many exciting races among the world’s best swimmers for many years,” said Steven Munatones.  “The competition is unique with its winner-take-all prize money.  Its start on Angel Island is something to see. And every year, no one really knows the currents and who will win. It will be sorely missed another year, but we look forward to covering it once again in 2022.

Over the years since 1999, the winners have included Ashley Twichell and Ferry Weertman (2018), Ashley Twichell and Chip Peterson (2016), Ashley Twichell and Jordan Wilimovsky (2015), Ashley Twichell and Mateusz Sawrymowicz (2013), Melissa Gorman and Kane Radford (2012), Melissa Gorman and Kane Radford (2011), Christine Jennings and Chip Peterson (2010), Melissa Gorman and Kane Radford (2009), Britta Kamrau and Trent Grimsey (2008), Chloe Sutton and Vladimir Dyatchin (2007), Chloe Sutton and Vladimir Dyatchin (2006), Sara McLarty and Chad Carvin (2004), Brooke Bennett and Chad Carvin (2003), Brooke Bennett and Chris Thompson (2002), Cristina Teuscher and Ryk Neethling (2001), Brooke Bennett and Ryk Neethling (2000) and Brooke Bennett and Malcolm Allen (1999). That is a lot of Olympic medals, world championship titles, Hall of Famers, and a lot of speed and stamina among that incredible group of fast swimmers who have sprinted from Angel Island to downtown Tiburon.”

Copyright © 2008 – 2021 by World Open Water Swimming Association

Steven Munatones